New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Dakar Rally: Peterhansel closes gap to leader Sainz

2018-01-17 00:58

Argentina - Reigning champion Stephane Peterhansel moved up to second overall by winning the 10th special at the Dakar Rally on Tuesday.

The 52-year-old veteran - the record 13-time race winner across car and motorbike categories - cut Peugeot team mate Carlos Sainz's lead to 50 minutes 35 seconds.

Stage 10 win

Sainz, himself the Dakar winner in 2010, rode a conservative stage as he started with a lead of almost an hour over 2015 champion Nasser Al-Attiyah.

Mechanical woes for Nasser

The Toyota driver faced mechanical problems and lost significant time, dropping to third overall at 1hr 12min 46sec.

In the bike category, Adrien Van Beveren's hopes of victory disappeared after he crashed 3km from the end of the 373km special from Salta to Belen in Argentina.

He was evacuated by helicopter after feeling "groggy".

He suffered a broken collarbone, alongside chest and back injuries.

It meant Austria's Matthias Walkner took over the category lead with an 11min 35sec lead over Chile's Pablo Quintanilla.


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.