Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Orlando wins stage, Nasser close to title

2015-01-16 22:35

TERRANOVA IN ACTION: Argentine Orlando Terranova claimed his fourth stage win at the 2015 Dakar Rally on Friday. Image: AP

ROSARIO, Argentina - Argentine Orlando Terranova claimed his fourth stage win at the Dakar Rally on Friday and the 11th for the dominant Mini team as Qatari Nasser Al-Attiyah closed in on a second overall title.

Terranova, 35, finished ahead of another Mini driven by Russian Vladimir Vasilyev and the Duster Renault of fellow Argentine Emiliano Spataro.

Al-Attiyah, winner in 2011, is almost certain of victory in the final stage on Saturday which finishes in Buenos Aires, as the 44-year-old Mini driver holds a lead of almost 36 minutes on South African Giniel de Villiers in a Toyota Hilux, which he extended by a further seven minutes on Friday.


In the motorbikes, Australian Toby Price rode his KTM to a dominant stage victory as Spaniard Marc Coma moved closer to a fifth title.

Coma played it safe over the 298km special between Termas de Rio Hondo and Rosario to finish sixth at 6min 25sec behind Price who had lead from start to finish.

Spaniard Joan Barreda Bort finished second at 1min55 with fellow Honda rider Paulo Goncalves of Portugal third at 3min 02sec.

Goncalves, second in the overall standings, only took back 3min23 on Coma with the Spaniard holding a comfortable 18-minute advantage going into Saturday's final stage to Buenos-Aires.

Price consolidated his overall third place, taking more than 10 minutes on Chilean rival Pablo Quintanilla, who finished eighth.

Results after Stage 12 of the 2015 Dakar Rally on Friday over 1024km from Termas de Rio Hondo to Rosario in Argentina with 298km timed

1 Orlando Terranova/Bernardo Graue (ARG/ARG/Mini) 3hr04min06
2 Vladimir Vasilyev/Konstantin Zhiltsov (RUS/RUS/Mini) 30
3 Emiliano Spataro/Benjamin Lozada (ARG/ARG/Renault) 1min29
4 Nasser al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Mini) 1min37
5 Bernhard Ten Brinke/Tom Colsoul (NED/BEL/Toyota) 1min50
6 Carlos Sousa/Paulo Fiuza (POR/POR/Mitsubishi) 1min52
7 Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) 4min04
8 Krzysztof Holowczyc/Xavier Panseri (POL/FRA/Mini) 4min39
9 Robby Gordon/Johnny Campbell (USA/USA/Gordini) 5min20
10 Aidyn Rakhimbayev/Anton Nikolaev (KAZ/RUS/Mini) 6min15

 Overall standings
1 Nasser al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Mini) 40hr18min30 (penalty 2min00)
2 Giniel de Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) +35min39
3 Krzysztof Holowczyc/Xavier Panseri (POL/FRA/Mini) +1hr31min51
4 Erik Van Loon/Wouter Rosegaar (NED/NED/Mini) +3hr01min34 (penalty 40min00)
5 Vladimir Vasilyev/Konstantin Zhiltsov (RUS/RUS/Mini) +3hr12min19
6 Christian Lavieille/Pascal Maimon (FRA/FRA/Toyota) +3hr15min16
7 Bernhard Ten Brinke/Tom Colsoul (NED/BEL/Toyota) +3hr41min53
8 Carlos Sousa/Paulo Fiuza (POR/POR/Mitsubishi) +3hr44min35. (penality 40min00)
9 Aidyn Rakhimbayev/Anton Nikolaev (KAZ/RUS/Mini) +4hr07min47 (penalty 30sec)
10 Ronan Chabot/Gilles Pillot (FRA/FRA/Smg) +4hr41min37

1Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) 3hr19min04
2 Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) +1min55
3 Paulo Goncalves (POR/Honda) +3min02
4 Ivan Jakes (SVK/Ktm) +3min08
5 Stefan Svitko (SVK/Ktm) +5min01
6 Marc Coma (ESP/Ktm) +6min25
7 Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) +8min40
840, 8. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Ktm) +10min07
9 Frans Verhoeven (NED/Yamaha) +10min51
10 Laia Sanz Pla-Giribert (ESP/Honda) +12min42

 Overall standings
1 Marc Coma (ESP/Ktm) 45hr08min32
2 Paulo Goncalves (POR/Honda) +17min49 (penalty 16min00)
3 Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) +25min18
4 Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Ktm) +36min57
5 Stefan Svitko (SVK/Ktm) +46min43
6 Ruben Faria (POR/Ktm) +1hr 50min39 (penalty 40min00)
7 David Casteu (FRA/Ktm) +1hr55min09
8 Laia Sanz Pla-Giribert (ESP/Honda) +2hr19min37
9 Ivan Jakes (SVK/Ktm) 2hr21min29
10 Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) +3hr04min21

2015 Dakar Rally from behind the lens

Stage 12 - Inside Dakar 2015 - Shooting the dakar by Dakar

Read more on:    argentina

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.