Iveco trucks dominate Dakar

2012-01-17 11:09

It's a super-rugged part of the Dakar Rally but, sadly, little covered by the mainstream motoring media - so here's which truck won the 2012 event in South America.

With a first, second and sixth place in the overall truck ranking, Iveco dominated the 33rd Dakar. The Petronas De Rooy Iveco team won the rally with the Gerard De Rooy behind the wheel of an Iveco Powerstar driven by a 671kW FPT Industrial C13 engine.

Iveco CEO Alfredo Altavilla commented: “The Iveco participation in the Dakar 2012 aimed to reconfirm the excellent reliability of our trucks' reliability and of the FPT Industrial engines. Winning the rally and ranking three trucks in the first six positions is an outstanding success which shows the efficiency, strength and safety of the Iveco Trakker and Powerstar.

"My special thanks to the drivers and all the other team members for their commitment and dedication."

For Iveco, the Dakar 2012 was a great opportunity to test its trucks across extreme conditions of three South American countries. The race, which started on January 1, 2012 in Mar del Plata, crossed Argentina, Chile and Peru, covering 14 stages, with a total distance of 8 500km.

Dakar Rally 2012: Truck rankings

1 IVECO 21hr20min47
2 IVECO +51min19
3 KAMAZ +1hr47min45
4 KAMAZ +5hr01min10
5 KAMAZ +5hr01min50
6 IVECO +6hr31min11
7 TATRA +6hr54min15
8 TATRA +7hr46min07
9 HINO +10hr39min24
10 MAN +11hr12min32