New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Champ Ogier wins Wales for fine finale

2014-11-17 14:23

CHAMPS AGAIN: Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier (L) and his co-driver Julien Ingrassia (R) celebrate winning the 2014 Wales GB Rally in the final round of the FIA World Rally Championship in LLandudno, Wales. Image: AFP / Geoff Caddick

CARDIFF, Wales - France's freshly crowned World Rally champion Sebastien Ogier rounded off the season in style on Sunday (Nov 16 2014) by winning the Wales Rally GB.

The VW Polo driver, who successfully defended his rally championship title in Spain the previous month, saw off Mikko Hirvonen and his Ford Fiesta by almost 40 seconds.

The rally was Finnish rally star Hirvonen's 193rd and final rally before retirement after a 13-season career. The 34-year-old bows out with 15 wins and 69 podium finishes.


He was fourth in the overall standings on 126 points with Ogier champion again on 267 from Jari-Matti Latvala on 218 and Andreas Mikkelsen of Norway on 150. In third in Wales, but more than a minute behind, was Mikkelson's compatriot Mads Ostberg.

It was Ogier's 24th career win and his eighth of the season.

Latvala, Ogier's Volkswagen team mate, posted the fastest time in the power stage for his Stage 9 win in Wales compared to Ogier's four but his hopes of victory were gone when he slithered into a ditch on Saturday.      

1 Sebastien Ogier, France, VW, 3hr03min08.2
2 Mikko Hirvonen, Finland, M-Sport World, 3hr03min45.8
3 Mads Ostberg, Norway, Citroen 3hr04min11.8
4 Thierry Neuville, Belgium, Hyundai, 3hr04min23.1
5 Elfyn Evans, Britain, M-Sport World, 3hr04min32.5
6 Kris Meeke, Britain, Citroen, 3hr05min11.2
7 Ott Tanak, Estonia, Fiesta, 3hr05min37.9
8 Jari-Matti Latvala, Finland, VW, 3hr05min55.7
9 Martin Prokop, Czech Republic, Jipocar, 3hr06min51.5
10 Hayden Paddom, New Zealand, Hyundai, 3hr06min56.7    


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.