Cape karters battle over titles

2012-10-30 09:31

The penultimate Western Province Regional karting championship round at Killarney on Saturday, October 27, 2012 was an explosive and controversial affair in otherwise perfect racing conditions.
Topping the bill was a trio of cracking Junior Max races that saw none of the title contenders enjoying an ideal day.


Julian van der Watt took a triple of seconds to beat Jonathan Aberdein to the overall win and move into a slender championship lead. The other two wins went to Umpie Swart, who crashed out of the second heat to end third, while newly crowned SA champion Eugene Deneyssen only managed sixth overall behind his charged-up team mate Hilton Peters and Delano Fowler.

That saw Deneyssen slip to second in the tight title chase between him, van der Watt and Swart to set up a sensational finale on 17 November. The top three go into the finale with just six points separating them.

In the open Senior Max class, David Perel stormed to a fine pair wins to seal class honours for the day. He also has a mathematical chance open to beat Chad Daniel, who endured a tough day en route to fourth, for the title.

The returning Luke Herring took second overall ahead of Race 3 winner Ricky Perdigao, who is now a level third on the points log with rookie Jonathan Thomas.
There was drama in the Maxterino class when dominant race 1 and 2 winner Dario Busi was sent to the back of the grid for a startline indiscretion in the final. Dario fought back to seventh to end up a close second overall behind race 3 winner Aidan Strydom.


Strydom, JP Hamman and Julia Hoal are five points apart in the title chase to third after dicing all day, while Matthew Isaac spent the afternoon swapping stickers with Giordano Lupini and promising newcomer Storm Lanfear.
The baby Cadet class went according to championship form although Joseph Oelz who won races 2 and 3 was made to fight for honours by Kai van Zyl. Tate Bishop fought Troy Dolinschek off for third.
Dale Fourie arrived on the scene to blitz all comers in the ever-popular Cape Clubmans, beating Class A protagonists Dean Briers and Johan Hamman to victory.

Lourens van Rensburg clinched the Class B the title with a pair of wins after Stefano Fonti beat him to Race 1, while second on the day Gordon Midgley drew level with Morne Oosthuizen in championship second.

Kian van der Merwe dominated Class C ahead of Kahil Coetzee, who clinched the class title.
With most championships still on the line, the Cape karting finale will be at Killarney on November 17, 2012.