New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Africa Enduro series: Cape title at stake

2015-06-01 11:12

LOCAL RACING ACTION: The SA-built car of drivers Trevor Frost and Franco di Matteo Bailey will be among the more interesting entries in the Killarney Cape 3-Hour endurance race. Image: African Endurance Series

What: African Endurance Championship Round 4
Where: Killarney, Cape Town
When: Saturday, June 6 2015

The African Endurance series heads to the Western Cape three-hour darkness on June 6 2015, with local Cape drivers hell-bent on defending home glory after beating Kyalami’s racers earlier in April 2015.

Cape Town duo Francis Carruthers/Nick Adcock drove their Juno SS3 into to victory in Gauteng. Brothers Duncan and Graham Vos, who won the previous Round 2 at the KZN Dezzi Raceway before their Kyalami defeat, are out for revenge.

Free State six-hour race winners, Steve Humble/Johan Engelbrecht, are keen to be the first team to rack-up two wins at Killarney. Trevor Frost/Franco di Matteo are among those looking for a great weekend aboard their stunning Bailey LMP2, while Mike Verrier/Mark Lauth’s Shelby Can Am is another series regular pining for the top step of the podium.


Racers will keep an eye out for Cape wildcards Colin Plit /Dawie Joubert’s Juno, while the Greg Mills/Andrea Bate Pilbem will hope to end Juno domination at its home track. Never mind Josh Broome and Richard Schreuder’s Radical, the Steve Pickering/Rohann Theron Porsche 910, the Eric Salomon/John Amm Elf 506, Rod Schafer and Rob Hewitt in a Lotus Seven and the Martin Pugh/Ralph Odendaal and Andrew Moffatt/Richard Schreuder Lolas among the other sports cars looking for Killarney glory.

The weekend should prove an easier one for local Cape Town hero Craig Harper and his little Harper sports car he will share with Clinton Thorne. Harper has driven his remarkable little racecar over 10 000km to and from the opening three upcountry races so far this year.

Another interesting battle brewing among the GT entries is with Charl and Harry Aranges’ Ferrari taking on a fleet of Porsches including Sun Moodley/Andrew Culbert/Preyen Moodley, Stefan Puschavez, Fred de Kok/Nicky Dicks, Dillon, Matthew and Stephen Miller and Graham/ Tania du Toit, as well as Dave Alhadeff/Jonathan Bernstein/Chris Carolin Panoz Esperante and the roaring Craig Jarvis/Marcel Angel Dodge Viper ACR.


Sedans will form a good portion of the grid in typical endurance fashion, with Natal duo Mickey Schmidt/Bruce Avern-Taplin’s Toyota Corolla leading the tin-top championship chase. 

The pair will defend their position from Theo van Vuuren/Bradley Scorer/Martin Botha in the Alfa Romeo GT, ErnestRoos/Gary Fourie’s BMW, Justin Mathie/Gary Sherrat in a Nissan 370Z and the Deon Crous/Ronald van Rensburg/Robbie Beninca and Terence Ehlers/Dave Russel VW Golfs.

Killarney has a glorious endurance racing heritage with regular long-distance races completed over many years, from the halcyon 1960s when the Hawkins/Love Ferrari Can Am took on a swarm of Ford GT40s, Lola T70s and Chevrons in that glorious Springbok Series era, through those legendary ‘80s and ‘90s Group N Production Car six, seven and nine-hours to more recent enduros, so Saturday’s races should evoke some classic memories and add to an incredible history.

The event starts late afternoon at 4pm Saturday to end off the Killarney Carnival Power Series and will run well into dark following a quick midwinter 5.40pm Cape sunset.

EPIC CLASSIC: Mickey Schmidt and Bruce Avern-Taplin's Corolla is looking for another sedan win at Killarney's Cape 3-Hour. Image: African Endurance Series


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.