Here's why Toyota's Rush is doing so well

Toyota has apparently now completed its utter domination of the SA gravel travel market, writes Lance Branquinho.

The good, bad and ugly of Fernando Alonso's F1 career

'Fernando Alonso is one of the all-time greats', writes Egmont Sippel.

US Grand Prix: Hamilton grabs pole position, sets record lap

2016-10-22 21:18

Texas- Defending champion Lewis Hamilton powered to pole position for Sunday's United States Grand Prix on Saturday when he out-paced Mercedes team mate and championship leader Nico Rosberg with a blistering lap in a tense qualifying session.

The 31-year-old Briton dominated the action with a best lap in 1min34.999 seconds - the first driver to break the 1min35 barrier - to outstrip the German by 0.216 seconds as the Silver Arrows pairing reeled off their 10th front row lockout of the year.

It is the 58th pole position of Hamilton's career and his ninth this year, but his first at the Circuit of the Americas where despite winning three of the four previous races he had failed to dominate qualifying.

As it happened: 2016 United States Grand Prix qualifying

Hamilton said: "I feel amazing. It's my first pole here. I could hear the crowd cheering as I crossed the line."

 Daniel Ricciardo qualified third for Red Bull ahead of his team mate Max Verstappen with the Ferraris of Kimi Raikkonen and four-time champion Sebastian Vettel taking fifth and sixth.

Renault-bound Nico Hulkenberg was seventh for Force India ahead of Valtteri Bottas and his Williams team-mate Felipe Massa and Carlos Sainz of Toro Rosso.

Hamilton is seeking his 50th win to stay in contention in the title race in which he trails Rosberg by 33 points with four races remaining.

2016 United States Grand Prix qualifying times on Saturday:


1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1min34.999

2. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1min35.215

3. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull-TAG Heuer 1min35.509

4. Max Verstappen (NED) Red Bull-TAG Heuer 1min35.747

5. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1min36.131

6. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1min36.358

7. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Force India-Mercedes 1min36.628

8. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams-Mercedes 1min37.116

9. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams-Mercedes 1min37.269

10. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1min37.326


1. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull-TAG Heuer 1min36.255 (Q)

2. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1min36.351 (Q)

3. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1min36.450 (Q)

4. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1min36.462 (Q)

5. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1min36.584 (Q)

6. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Force India-Mercedes 1min36.626 (Q)

7. Max Verstappen (NED) Red Bull-TAG Heuer 1min36.857 (Q)

8. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1min37.175 (Q)

 9. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams-Mercedes 1min37.202 (Q)

10. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams-Mercedes 1min37.214 (Q)

11. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India-Mercedes 1min37.353

12. Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren-Honda 1min37.417

13. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1min37.480

14. Esteban Gutierrez (MEX) Haas-Ferrari 1min37.773

15. Jolyon Palmer (GBR) Renault 1min37.935

16. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Sauber-Ferrari 1min39.356


1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1min36.296 (Q)

2. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1min36.397 (Q)

3. Max Verstappen (NED) Red Bull-TAG Heuer 1min36.613 (Q)

4. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull-TAG Heuer 1min36.759 (Q)

5. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Force India-Mercedes 1min36.950 (Q)

6. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1min36.985 (Q)

7. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1min37.151 (Q)

8. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India-Mercedes 1min37.345 (Q)

9. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams-Mercedes 1min37.402 (Q)

10. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams-Mercedes 1min37.456 (Q)

11. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1min37.744 (Q)

12. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1min37.844 (Q)

13. Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren-Honda 1min37.913 (Q)

14. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Sauber-Ferrari 1min38.040 (Q)

15. Esteban Gutierrez (MEX) Haas-Ferrari 1min38.053 (Q)

16. Jolyon Palmer (GBR) Renault 1min38.084 (Q)

17. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Haas-Ferrari 1min38.308

18. Kevin Magnussen (DEN) Renault 1min38.317

19. Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren-Honda 1min38.327

20. Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Manor-Mercedes 1min38.548

21. Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber-Ferrari 1min38.583

22. Esteban Ocon (FRA) Manor-Mercedes 1:38.806


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.