WIN | Kyalami 9 Hour double tickets!

Win a set of 5 VIP double tickets or a set of four general access tickets to the Kyalami 9 Hour season finale on November 23.

WATCH: Best save ever?

South African Moto2 rider Steven Odendaal pulled off one of the greatest 'saves' in motorsport at the Czech GP.

Mexican GP: Here's how Hamilton can win his fourth world title

2017-10-26 09:02

Image: AP / Marco Ugarte

Mexico City - Lewis Hamilton can clinch his fourth world drivers' championship title at this weekend's Mexican Grand Prix.

Ferrari began the 2017 Formula 1 season with a furious start but has since been plagued by performance issues.

Hamilton (currently on 331 points) leads Ferrari rival Sebastian Vettel (265) by 66 points. In third place is Hamilton's team mate Valtteri Bottas (244).

Mathematically, Vettel could still win the title for the Italian team if Hamilton has a three-race collapse of epic proportions.

Hamilton has scored points in every race this season and hasn't missed a podium since the race in Hungary back on July 30.

AFP Sport looks at how the British driver can seal the title:

1 Hamilton has to score nine points, the equivalent of any top five finish, to make it a mathematical certainty, even if rival Sebastian Vettel wins the race.

2 If the four-time champion German finishes second for Ferrari, Hamilton only needs a top nine finish in his Mercedes to claim the title.

3 If Vettel is third, or worse, in the race then Hamilton will be champion even if he fails to finish.

Do you think Lewis Hamilton can clinch the title at the Mexican GP? Do you think Ferrari can make a comeback? Email us

Formula 1 world championship standings ahead of Sunday's Mexican Grand Prix:


1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) 331 points
2. Sebastian Vettel (GER) 265
3. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) 244
4. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) 192
5. Kimi Rikknen (FIN) 160
6. Max Verstappen (NED) 126
7. Sergio Prez (MEX) 86
8. Esteban Ocon (FRA) 73
9. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) 54
10. Felipe Massa (BRA) 36
11. Nico Hlkenberg (GER) 34
12. Lance Stroll (CAN) 32
13. Romain Grosjean (FRA) 28
14. Kevin Magnussen (DEN) 15
15. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL) 13
16. Fernando Alonso (ESP) 10
17. Jolyon Palmer (GBR) 8
18. Pascal Wehrlein (GER) 5
19. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) 4


1. Mercedes-AMG 575 points (champions)
2. Ferrari 428
3. Red Bull 315
4. Force India 159
5. Williams 68
6. Toro Rosso 53
7. Renault 48
8. Haas 43
9. McLaren-Honda 23
10. Sauber 5

Read more on:    mercedes  |  lewis hamilton  |  mexico  |  motorsport  |  f1

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.