Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Malaysian GP: Ricciardo wins, Hamilton's engine blows

2016-10-02 11:38

BULLS EYE: Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo claimed his first win of the 2016 season and the fourth of his career at the Malaysian GP. Image: AP / The Canadian Press

Sepang - Daniel Ricciardo led a Red Bull one-two as Lewis Hamilton's championship hopes went up in smoke at a dramatic, action-packed Malaysian Grand Prix on Sunday.

Hamilton was leading with 15 laps to go when his engine exploded. "No, no," cried the Englishman as flames appeared at the back of his car, leaving Ricciardo leading teammate Max Verstappen.

Championship leader Nico Rosberg survived a first-bend spin involving Sebastian Vettel and a 10-second penalty to take third place and extend the gap over Mercedes teammate Hamilton to 23 points with just five races remaining.

Disaster for Hamilton

Hamilton was almost in tears with his head in his hands after the dramatic end to his race which has dealt a severe blow to his chances of securing a third drivers' championship in a row. 

He had looked all set to snatch back the lead from Rosberg, who was relegated from second on the grid to 21st after he was hit by Vettel on the first bend.

Watch: Vettel clatters into Rosberg 

Vettel was forced to retire with a broken front suspension in the incident that also involved Verstappen.

Hamilton had got away cleanly form pole position and sped off into the distance, clear of the trouble behind him.

More: Malaysian GP - As it happened

He looked to be heading for a comfortable win until his engine let go in the most spectacular fashion.

An ecstatic Ricciardo celebrated his first win of the season on the podium with a "shoey" -- drinking champagne from his driving boot.

Verstappen, who turned 19 on Friday (September 30) , celebrated his podium finish and his birthday by also drinking the sweaty cocktail.

2016 Malaysian GP result: 

1 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:37.12.776
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull 2.443
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 25.516     
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 28.785
5 Valtteri Bottas Williams 61.582
6 Sergio Perez Force India 63.794
7 Fernando Alonso McLaren 65.205
8 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 74.062
9 Jenson Button McLaren 81.816     
10 Jolyon Palmer Renault 95.466
11 Carlos Sainz Jr Toro Rosso 98.878
12 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1 lap
13 Felipe Massa Williams 1 lap     
14 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1 lap
15 Pascal Wehrlein Manor 1 lap
16 Esteban Ocon Manor 1 lap

Did not finish

Felipe Nasr Sauber
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
Esteban Gutierrez Haas
Kevin Magnussen Renault    
Romain Grosjean Haas
Sebastian Vettel Ferrari


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.