New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Vettel on pole for Indian GP

2013-10-26 12:22

FOURTH TITLE IN THE BAG? Sebastian Vettel is a step closer to earning his fourth consecutive World Championship. Image: AFP

GREATER NOIDA, India - Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel put himself on pole position for a fourth successive Formula 1 title after lapping the Indian Grand Prix circuit faster than ever before on October 26 2013.

Vettel, whose best lap of 1min24.119 seconds maintained his record of being on pole for India in every race since the country's F1 debut in 2011, will have compatriot Nico Rosberg alongside for Mercedes on the front row.


Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, 90 points behind in the standings with four races to go and the only driver who can put Vettel's title celebrations on hold, qualified eighth.

Lewis Hamilton will line-up third for Mercedes, with Vettel's team mate Mark Webber fourth.

Webber was the only driver on the front two rows to have set his best lap on the slower but more durable medium tyres with the other three opting for softs and sure to pit earlier.

Vettel said: "Obviously Mark is on a different strategy so we'll see what the race brings tomorrow.”

Alonso, who must finish in the top two to have any hope of staying mathematically in contention after the weekend, also qualified on the medium tyres.

Romain Grosjean, who led the previous race in Japan and has finished on the podium in the last two grands prix, failed to get his Lotus through the first phase of qualifying.


Grosjean paid a heavy price for going out on the medium tyre when others were lapping on the softs and will start back in 17th.

Grosjean said: "We just missed the cut-off time, everyone went quicker than we thought. Today, for some reason, the mediums were not quick enough. It's a decision we took together, we were confident we could do enough with them but we got it wrong."

Team mate Kimi Raikkonen will start sixth, with Ferrari's Felipe Massa in fifth and Sauber's Nico Hulkenberg a strong seventh for Sauber. The two McLaren drivers Jenson Button and Sergio Perez rounded out the top 10 behind Alonso.

2013 Indian Grand Prix at Buddh International Circuit:

1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull  1min24.119
2 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min24.871
3 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1min24.941
4 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull  1min25.047
5 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min25.201
6 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus  1min25.248
7 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber 1min25.334
8 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min25.826
9 Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 1min26.153
10 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min26.487
11 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso  1min25.519
12 Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min25.711
13 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 1min25.740
14 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso  1min25.798
15 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams  1min26.134
16 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber  1min26.336
17 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus  1min26.577
18 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams  1min26.842
19 Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia  1min26.970
20 Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham  1min27.105
21 Charles Pic (France) Caterham  1min27.487
22 Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia  1min28.138
1-10: Third and final qualifying session
11-16: Second qualifying session
17-22: First qualifying session

Third practice
Second practice
First practice

Stay with Wheels24 for the 2013 Indian GP qualifying

Read more on:    red bull  |  motorsport  |  racing  |  f1

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.