Schumi back on top in Malaysia

2012-03-24 11:43

SEPANG, Malaysia - Lewis Hamilton put his McLaren on pole for the Malaysian Grand Prix on Saturday, as the team locked up the front row of the starting grid for the second race in a row.

The Briton clocked one minute, 36.219 seconds in the third round of qualifying and will line up alongside Melbourne winner Jenson Button, who finished 0.149 seconds behind.


Michael Schumacher was third fastest in his Mercedes with Red Bull's Mark Webber completing the second row of the grid in fourth.

World champion Sebastian Vettel finished sixth but will be promoted one place above Kimi Raikkonen's Lotus, who finished ahead of the German but will lose five places on the grid for changing his gearbox.

Stay with Wheels24 for the Malaysian Grand Prix weekend!

Qualifying times for the Malaysian Grand Prix:

1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min36.219 seconds
2 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min36.368
3 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min36.391
4 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1min36.461
5 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min36.461
6 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min36.634
7 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min36.658
8 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min36.664
9 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min37.566
10 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 1min37.698

11 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuala) Williams 1min37.589
12 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min37.731
13 Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams 1min37.841
14 Paul di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min37.877
15 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min37.883
16 Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min37.890
17 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min38.069

18 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min39.077
19 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham 1min39.306
20 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min39.567
21 Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia 1min40.903
22 Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min41.250
23 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT 1min42.914
24 Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min43.655

Third free practice times:

1 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min36.877 seconds
2 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min37.320
3 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1min37.338
4 Kimi Räikkönen (Finland) Lotus 1min37.356
5 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus    1min37.382
6 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min37.404
7 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min37.455
8 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min37.663
9 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min37.776
10 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min37.977
11 Bruno Senna (Brazil)    Williams 1min38.091
12 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 1min38.178
13 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min38.246
14 Nico Hülkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min38.285
15 Daniel Ricciardo (Australian) Toro Rosso 1min38.423
16 Jean-Eric Vergne (France)    Toro Rosso 1min38.640
17 Paul di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min38.794
18 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min39.209
19 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min39.704
20 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham    1min40.189
21 Charles Pic (France)    Marussia 1min41.901
22 Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia 1min42.007
23 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT    1min42.464
24 Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min43.378

Second free practice times:

1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min38.172 seconds
2 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min38.533
3 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min38.535
4 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min38.696
5 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min38.853
6 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min38.891
7 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1min39.133
8 JeanEric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min39.297
9 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min39.311
10 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min39.402
11 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min39.444
12 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min39.464
13 Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min39.625
14 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min39.687
15 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min39.696
16 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min40.271
17 Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams 1min40.678
18 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 1min40.947
19 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min41.464
20 Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia  1min41.681
21 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham 1min42.594
22 Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min42.874
23 Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min43.658
24 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT 1min43.823

First free practice times:

1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min38.021 seconds
2 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull 1min38.535
3 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min38.813
4 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min38.826
5 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min38.919
6 Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull 1min39.092
7 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min39.128
8 Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India1min39.298
9 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min39.323
10 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min39.440
11 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 1min39.724
12 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min39.783
13 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min39.896
14 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min39.910
15 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min39.980
16 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min40.099
17 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham 1min40.247
18 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min40.469
19 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min40.857
20 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Ferrari 1min41.085
21. Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia 1min43.170
22 Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min44.580
23 Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min45.360
24 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT 1min45.528

  • jacques.koorts - 2012-03-25 14:21

    biedie biedie oh oh. schumi is back

  • pages:
  • 1