Red Bulls trail in Sepang

2012-03-23 10:37

SEPANG, Malaysia - McLaren's Lewis Hamilton continued to set the pace in the second practice session here while Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber trailed the rookies.

Hamilton set the quickest times in both first and second practice ahead of the 2012 Malaysian GP.

The McLaren ace was on pace throughout a day of varying weather; the day started sunny but ended with a rain-soaked circuit.


Mercedes' Michael Schumacher set the second-quickest time; Hamilton's team mate Jenson Button was third-quickest.

Toro Rosso rookie Daniel Ricciardo beat Ferrari's Fernando Alonso finishing in fourth.

Red Bull's Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel had to settle for seventh and 10th respectively.

Stay with Wheels24 for the Malaysian Grand Prix weekend!

Second free practice times from the 2012 Malaysian Formula 1 GP

1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min38.172 seconds
2 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min38.533
3 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min38.535
4 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min38.696
5 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min38.853
6 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min38.891
7 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1min39.133
8 JeanEric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min39.297
9 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min39.311
10 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min39.402
11 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min39.444
12 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min39.464
13 Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min39.625
14 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min39.687
15 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min39.696
16 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min40.271
17 Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams 1min40.678
18 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 1min40.947
19 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min41.464
20 Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia  1min41.681
21 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham 1min42.594
22 Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min42.874
23 Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min43.658
24 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT 1min43.823

First free practice times:

1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min38.021 seconds
2 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull 1min38.535
3 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min38.813
4 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min38.826
5 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min38.919
6 Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull 1min39.092
7 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min39.128
8 Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India1min39.298
9 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min39.323
10 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min39.440
11 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 1min39.724
12 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min39.783
13 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min39.896
14 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min39.910
15 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min39.980
16 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min40.099
17 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham 1min40.247
18 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min40.469
19 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min40.857
20 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Ferrari 1min41.085
21. Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia 1min43.170
22 Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min44.580
23 Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min45.360
24 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT 1min45.528