Practice 3: Vettel on top

2012-06-09 15:58

MONTREAL, Canada - Red Bull's double world champion Sebastian Vettel was quickest in final practice for the Canadian Grand Prix to set the stage for a riveting battle for pole position.

Vettel, who started on pole in his only win this season in Bahrain, blitzed around the sun-kissed Circuit Gilles Villeneuve course in a best time of one minute 14.442 seconds, the German crossing 0.006 ahead of Ferrari's Fernando Alonso.


McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton was quickest in both practice sessions and was third fastest followed by Red Bull’s Mark Webber.

Williams’ Pastor Maldonado, the surprise winner in Spain, was fifth followed by Ferrari’s Felipe Massa.

Seven-times world champion Michael Schumacher looked poised to challenge for an eight win in Montreal clocking the morning's seventh best time.

Jenson Button, who staged a dramatic charge to win in 2011’s rain hit Canadian Grand Prix, continued to struggle with his McLaren posting the 15th best effort after finishing well down the time charts due to gearbox problems.

Results from the final free practice session ahead of the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal:
1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 1min14.442
2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min14.448
3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min14.712
4. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 1min14.724
5. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams - Renault 1min14.755
6. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min14.767
7. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min14.796
8. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault 1min14.873
9. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus - Renault 1min14.977
 10. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 1min14.992
11. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India - Mercedes 1min15.067
12. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari 1min15.112
13. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber - Ferrari 1min15.126
14. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams - Renault 1min15.237
15. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min15.327
16. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1min15.498
17. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham - Renault 1min16.268
18. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham - Renault 1min16.545
19. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT - Cosworth 1min17.705
20. Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia - Cosworth 1min17.974
21. Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT - Cosworth 1min18.189
22. Charles Pic (France) Marussia - Cosworth 1min18.684
23. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - Ferrari
24. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes

Results from the second practice session at the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal:

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min15.259
2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min15.313
3. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min15.410
4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min15.531
5. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min15.544
6. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min15.651
7. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min15.697
8. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min15.799
9. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min15.812
10. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min15.878
11. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 1min15.898
12. Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1min15.907
13. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min15.987
14. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min16.360
15. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min16.562
16. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham 1min16.981
17. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams 1min17.022
18. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min17.075
19. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min17.124
20. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min17.716
21. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT 1min18.908
22. Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia 1min19.084
23. Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min19.378
24. Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min19.902

First free practice session results at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve:

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min15.564
2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min15.682
3. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min15.782
4. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min15.842
5. Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1min15.897
6. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min15.986
7. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min16.000
8. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 1min16.249
9. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min16.264
10. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min16.347
11. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min16.460
12. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min16.619
13. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min16.859
14. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min16.890
15. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min17.014
16. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min17.352
17. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min17.580
18. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min17.935
19. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham 1min18.177
20. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT 1min18.182
21. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams 1min18.762
22. Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min19.354
23. Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia 1min20.004
24. Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min20.067

Stay with Wheels24 for the Canadian Grand Prix weekend!