Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Oz GP trophy named for Jack Brabham

2014-06-10 08:48

REMEMBERING 'BLACK JACK': (From left) Sebastian Vettel, Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton, Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen honour deceased Australian racing driver Jack Brabham ahead of the 2014 Monaco GP. Image: AP/Boris Hovat

SYDNEY, Australia - The Australian GP winner's trophy has been renamed in honour of Formula 1 legend Sir Jack Brabham who died on May 19 2014.

Race organisers said the "Sir Jack Brabham Trophy" would be awarded each year to the winner of the Australian GP from 2015.

Brabham, who claimed three Drivers' titles and is still (2014) the only man to have won the championship in a car he built himself, died on May 19 aged 88.


The Australian was acclaimed as one of the sport's most influential figures. The technological innovations brought about by the team he created helped to shape F1 and the man himself was the first driver to be knighted for services to motorsport.

His wife Lady Brabham said renaming the trophy was a touching gesture: "I've been overwhelmed by the tributes that have poured in from around the globe. It's been comforting to hear kind words from the likes of Jean Todt, Sir Stirling Moss, Sir Jackie Stewart to Alan Jones.

"Jack would have been so very proud."

Australian Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo, who swept to his maiden victory at the 2014 Canadian GP on June 8, said he had been inspired by Brabham: "What he achieved was incredible. Paying tribute to him each year with the Australian GP winner's trophy is a fantastic way to celebrate this legend.

"It would be something very special to be able to lift that trophy."
Read more on:    canada  |  motorsport  |  f1

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.