Abu Dhabi GP: Final practice

2011-11-11 12:56

Lewis Hamilton completed a clean sweep for McLaren with the fastest lap yet during the final practice session ahead of the Abu Dhabi  Grand Prix.

The 2008 world champion, who was also fastest overall on Friday after team mate Jenson Button led the opening session, lapped in one minute 38.976 seconds on a scorching afternoon at Yas Marina.

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel, his second world title already wrapped up, was second on the time sheets and 0.427 slower.


Vettel can equal Nigel Mansell's 1992 record of 14 pole positions in a single season during qualifying but Hamilton looks a good bet to ensure his British compatriot's milestone remains unbeaten.

Hamilton has been outstanding all weekend, determined to end a depressing season on a high with strong results in the final two races to banish talk of controversies, crashes and conflict with Ferrari's Felipe Massa.

However Vettel, who spun and hit the barriers during the second practice session can always be counted on to pull something out of the bag when it matters most.

Massa was only seventh fastest, while team mate Fernando Alonso was fifth.

Red Bull's Mark Webber, still chasing his first win of a season dominated by his Red Bull team mate, lapped third quickest with Button fourth.

Italian Jarno Trulli failed to set a time for Team Lotus.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix:

Third practice results

1. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1min38.976
2. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1min39.403
3. Mark Webber Red Bull 1min39.427
4. Jenson Button McLaren 1min39.429
5. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1min39.661
6. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1min40.135
7. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1min40.183
8. Adrian Sutil Force India 1min40.429
9. Paul di Resta Force India 1min40.511
10. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1min40.938
11. Bruno Senna Renault 1min41.509
12. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1min41.527
13. Sergio Perez Sauber 1min41.566
14. Vitaly Petrov Renault 1min41.594
15. Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso 1min41.622
16. Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso 1min41.855
17. Pastor Maldonado Williams 1min42.025
18. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 1min43.409
19. Rubens Barrichello Williams 1min43.861
20. Timo Glock Virgin 1min45.262
21. Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT 1min45.302
22. Jerome d'Ambrosio Virgin 1min45.509
23. Daniel Ricciardo HRT 1min45.732
24. Jarno Trulli Lotus N/A

Second practice results

1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1min39.586
2 Jenson Button McLaren 1min39.785
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1min39.971
4 Felipe Massa  Ferrar 1min39.980
5 Mark Webber Red Bull 1min40.104
6 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1min40.132
7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1min40.553
8 Adrian Sutil Force India 1min40.951
9 Paul di Resta Force India 1min41.021
10 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1min41.490
11 Sergio Perez Sauber 1min41.565
12 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso 1min41.680
13 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1min41.947
14 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso 1min41.983
15 Bruno Senna Renault 1min42.369
16 Rubens Barrichello Williams 1min42.798
17 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1min42.910
18 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 1min43.562
19 Jarno Trulli Lotus 1min44.050
20 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1min44.265
21 Timo Glock Virgin 1min45.486
22 Jerome d'Ambrosio Virgin 1min46.142
23 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT 1min46.249
24 Daniel Ricciardo HRT 1min46.328

First practice results

1 Jenson Button McLaren 1min40.263 seconds
2 Mark Webber Red Bull 1min40.389
3 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1min40.403
4 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1min40.755
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1min40.801
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1min41.260
7 Adrian Sutil Force India 1min41.340
8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1min42.130
9 Paul di Resta Force India 1min42.151
10 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso 1min42.377
11 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1min42.633
12 Romain Grosjean Renault 1min42.685
13 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1min43.118
14 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1min43.255
15 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1min43.389
16 Sergio Perez Sauber 1min44.412
17 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1min44.484
18 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 1min44.565
19 Jarno Trulli Lotus 1min44.898
20 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT 1min46.385
21 Daniel Ricciardo HRT 1min46.532
22 Timo Glock Virgin 1min48.024
23 Robert Wickens Virgin 1min48.551
24 Rubens Barrichello Williams no time    
Stay with with Wheels24 for the Abu Dhabi race weekend.