Hamilton close, Vettel fastest

2012-11-02 17:14

ABU DHABI: Formula 1 championship leader Sebastian Vettel was fastest in second practice here today ahead of Sunday’s 2012 Abu Dhabi F1 GP.

Second was Lewis Hamilton shortly after clocking what seemed to be the fastest lap.

Vettel clocked 1mib41.751 for Red Bull on the 5.6km Yas Marina circuit, 0.168sec quicker than Hamilton.


Hamilton's McLaren team mate Jenson Button was third followed by Vettel's team mate Mark Webber – a familiar line-up at the sharp end of the grid.

Vettel's strongest championship challenger, Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, had a hard time keeping pace. He finished only seventh fastest, 0.836sec slower than Vettel. He lost time when he went off the track.

The other remaining challenger, Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus, was sixth.

The practice in dry conditions was largely without incident though several drivers briefly left the track and two spun off, one of them Caterham’s Vitaly Petrov.

Second practice times for the Abu Dhabi F1 GP
1 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min41.751
2 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min41.919
3 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min42.412
4 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1min42.466
5 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min42.500
6 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min42.532
7 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min42.587
8 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min42.823
9 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min42.998
10 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 1min43.106
11 Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams 1min43.191
12 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min43.200
13 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min43.255
14 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min43.267
15 Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min43.578
16 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min43.689
17 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min44.260
18 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min45.005
19 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min45.245
20 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham 1min45.782
21 Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia 1min46.589
22 Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min46.671
23 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT 1min46.707
24 Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min47.406