Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

F1 statistics: 2015 Chinese GP

2015-04-08 12:58

HEADED FOR SHANGHAI: Will Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel (pictured here) claim a second win in a row or will Mercedes return reassert its dominance in China? Image: AP / Vincent Thian

SHANGHAI, China - Mercedes will be looking to reassert its dominance at the 2015 Chinese GP after the team received a wake-up call at the 2015 Malaysian GP, won Sebastian Vettel's revitalised Ferrari.

Lewis Hamilton led a Mercedes one-two ahead of Nico Rosberg during the Australian season opener. In Malaysia however Vettel won his first race for Ferrari and the teams first victory since 2013.

At the Shanghai international circuit, fans can expect a fierce battle.


Vettel is the 38th driver to win for Ferrari since the championship started in 1950, and the third German after Michael Schumacher and Wolfgang von Trips.

The four times world champion has 40 career wins, Hamilton 34, Fernando Alonso 32, Kimi Raikkonen 20 and Jenson Button 15.

One more win would put Vettel third overall and level with the late triple world champion Ayrton Senna in the all-time lists.

Malaysia ended Mercedes' run of eight successive race wins. It was the first time since 2013 that a team other than Mercedes or Red Bull won.

Ferrari have won 222 races, McLaren 182, Williams 114 and Red Bull 50. Mercedes have won 30.

McLaren have not won for 40 races, a dry spell that dates back to the 2012 Brazil GP. The team went 48 races without a win from 1993-97.


Mercedes have been on pole for the last 13 races. The record for successive poles is 24 (Williams 1992/93).

Mercedes and Williams were the only teams to start on pole in 2014. Ferrari's last pole position was in Germany with Alonso in 2012.


Toro Rosso's Max Verstappen (17) is the youngest driver to score points in F1 by finishing seventh at Sepang. The previous record was held by Daniil Kvyat, who was 19 when he scored at 2014 Australia GP.

Verstappen's team mate Carlos Sainz also gained points in Malaysia, becoming only the fifth driver in the last ten years to score points in his first two races.


The race made its debut on the calendar in 2004 and six of the 11 Chinese GP have been won from pole. No driver has ever won in China two years in a row. Hamilton is the most successful driver at Shanghai with three wins (2008, 2011, 2014) while Alonso has two (2005, 2013).

Ferrari won four times at the circuit while McLaren racked-up three wins.

Button and Alonso are the only drivers to have finished every Chinese GP. Button (in 2010) is the only driver to have won in China while reigning world champion.

The 1.17km back straight is the longest on the current F1 calendar. Hamilton won in 2014 with a two-stop strategy.

Rosberg took his first F1 pole and win in China in 2012. The circuit also saw Red Bull's first F1 win in 2009.

Below are F1 statistics for the Chinese GP:

Lap distance: 5.451km. Total distance: 305.066km (56 laps)
Race lap record: Michael Schumacher, Ferrari 1min32.238 (2004)
2014 pole: Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes
2014 winner: Hamilton
Start time: 08:00am SA local
Tyres: Medium (white), soft (yellow)

Read more on:    mercedes  |  ferrari  |  2015 chinese gp  |  china  |  motorsport  |  formula 1

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.