Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

F1 calendar and circuit details

2010-03-03 09:43
London - The F1 season will have a record-equalling 19 races in 2010, with South Korea making its debut and Canada returning after a year's absence.

The following details the circuits involved (all starting times are 1200 GMT/1400 local unless stated):

March 14 - Bahrain (Sakhir)
Circuit length:
6,299km, 49 laps, 308.405km
2009 race winner: Jenson Button (Britain) Brawn GP

One of two races in the Middle East, the desert track is one of the most modern but sand can be a problem. The circuit has been extended from last year's 5.412km, with an extra loop of corners after turn four.

March 28 - Australia (Albert Park, Melbourne).
Circuit length:
5.303km, 58 laps, 307.574km.
2009 race winner: Jenson Button (Britain) Brawn GP

A temporary parkland circuit but still way better than many permanent ones in Europe. The late start is to cater for European television audiences and the setting sun caused problems last year for some drivers, who felt conditions were dangerous. Melbourne was the season-opener in 2009.

April 4 - Malaysia (Sepang)
Circuit length
: 5.543km, 56 laps, 310.408km
2009 race winner: Jenson Button (Britain) Brawn GP

The high humidity makes this a strength-sapping race for drivers. The start has been brought forward an hour from last year, when the race had to be stopped early due to a tropical downpour.

April 18 - China (Shanghai).
Circuit length:
5.451km, 56 laps, 305.066km
2009 race winner: Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull
A vast state-of-the-art circuit lacking the passion and soul of older European venues. To the north-east of Shanghai, it can seat 200 000 spectators.

May 9 - Spain (Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona)
Circuit length:
4.655km, 66 laps, 307.104km
2009 race winner: Jenson Button, Brawn GP

A familiar circuit to all the teams from testing. On the calendar since 1991 but races have often been processional. Spain is the only country with two races.

May 16 - Monaco
Circuit length:
3.340km, 78 laps, 260.520km
2009 race winner: Jenson Button, Brawn GP

The jewel in the crown and still the most glamorous street race of them all, despite competition from Singapore. Qualifying is crucial due to the difficulty of overtaking.

May 30 - Turkey (Istanbul Park)
Circuit length:
5.338km, 58 laps, 309.396km
2009 race winner: Jenson Button, Brawn GP

One of three anti-clockwise circuits in the championship, the others being Interlagos in Brazil and Singapore. Likened to Spa for its fast and undulating layout, the circuit is on the Asian side of Istanbul.

June 13 - Canada (Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal).
Circuit length:
4.361km, 70 laps, 305.270km
No race last year

The track is on the Ile de Notre Dame, a man-made island on the St Lawrence seaway that was built for the 1976 EXPO exhibition and first hosted the race in 1978. Because the circuit is infrequently used, it can be very dusty.

June 27 - Europe (Valencia, Spain).
Circuit length:
5.419km, 57 laps, 308.883km
2009 race winner: Rubens Barrichello, Brawn

Made its debut in 2008 with the dullest race of the season. Europe's second street circuit. Moved forward from mid-August last year.

July 11 - Britain (Silverstone).
Circuit length:
5.901km, 52 laps, 306.747km.
2009 race winner: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)

The circuit hosted the first championship GP in 1950. Already one of the longest tracks in F1, the layout has been extended with a new Arena section. This year's race is on the same day as the soccer World Cup final.

July 25 - Germany (Hockenheim).
Circuit length:
4.574km, 67 laps, 306.458km.
2009 race winner: Mark Webber, Red Bull.

Now alternating with Nuerburgring as host of Germany's sole race.

Aug. 1 - Hungary (Hungaroring, Budapest)
Circuit length: 4.381km, 70 laps, 306.630km
2009 race winner: Lewis Hamilton, McLaren

The first race behind the old Iron Curtain, still the only one in Eastern Europe. A slow track, with overtaking difficult.

Aug. 29 - Belguim (Spa-Francorchamps)
Circuit length: 7.004km, 44 laps, 308.052km
2009 race winner: Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari

The longest and second fastest race on the calendar and a classic track, despite struggling with poor attendances and financial problems. Weather conditions are unpredictable. The left-right sweep of Eau Rouge is less awesome than it was but still a big test of bravery.

Sept. 12 - Italy (Monza)
Circuit length: 5.793km, 53 laps, 306.720km
2009 race winner: Rubens Barrichello, Brawn GP

The oldest and fastest race. Set in a royal park north-east of Milan, where speeds top 360kph and an average of more than 240kph per lap. No other circuit has hosted more races.

Sept. 26 - Singapore
Circuit length:
5.073km, 61 laps, 309.316km.
2009 race winner: Lewis Hamilton, McLaren

The sport's first night race and F1's first street circuit in Asia, lapping the Marina Bay area.

Oct. 10 - Japan (Suzuka). 5.807km
Circuit length:
53 laps, 307.573km
2009 race winner: Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull

Honda-owned, a high-speed circuit much-loved by the drivers.

Oct. 24 - South Korea (Korea Auto Valley)
Circuit length:
5.621km, 55 laps, 309.155km
No previous race.
The coastal circuit is some 300km from Seoul in the southwestern region of South Cholla province.

November 7 - Brazil (Interlagos, Sao Paulo)
Circuit length:
4.309km, 71 laps, 305.909km
2009 race winner:  Mark Webber, Red Bull
Has been the title-decider for the past five seasons. The sheer passion of the locals and the bowl-like amphitheatre make up for ramshackle facilities. Rain is always a risk.

Nov. 14 - Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)
Circuit length:
5.554km, 55 laps, 305.355km
2009 race winner: Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull

The sport's first day-to-night race. A lavish no-expense-spared facility, costing $1bn to build according to some estimates.


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.