Alonso quickest in final practice

2012-07-21 13:55

HOCKENHEIM, Germany - Formula 1 championship leader Fernando Alonso was fastest in the final practice session for the 2012 German GP.

The session began in sunshine and ended in a torrential downpour as the rain which hampered the first practice sessions returned to the Hockenheim circuit.

Lewis Hamilton, who will be taking part in his 100th Grand Prix, was second, giving some encouragement to his McLaren team after their disappointing last two outings but Hamilton's team mate Jenson Button was slowest of the 24 drivers.


Rookie Sergio Perez was third for Sauber while Red Bull's double World champion Sebastian Vettel, going for his first F1 win in Germany, was fifth.

Vettel, who led for part of the session, was one place behind his Red Bull team mate Mark Webber, second in the championship.

Webber will be penalised five places on the grid for an unscheduled gearbox change; Nico Rosberg and Romain Grosjean face the same penalty.

Alonso, the 2011 German GPwinner at the Nuerburgring, set a time of 1min16.014 for Ferrari just after the halfway point of the session. Worsening weather prevented the usual spate of improved times late in the session.

Seven-times World champion Michael Schumacher, who had an embarrassing crash late in the second session, struggled and managed only 15th for Mercedes.

Results from the final practice session ahead of the German Grand Prix:
1 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min16.014
2 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min16.091
3 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 1min16.202
4 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus  1min16.238
5 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull  1min16.447
6 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull  1min16.475
7 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min16.664
8 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min16.771
9 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min16.807
10. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams 1min16.930
11 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min16.962
12 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min17.033
13 Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min17.148
14 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min17.238
15 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min17.266
16 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1min17.419
17 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min17.491
18 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham  1min18.366
19 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min18.818
20 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT  1min19.778
21 Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia 1min20.235
22 Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min20.318
23 Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min20.741
24 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min20.914

Second practice results from the Formula 1 Grand Prix of Germany at Hockenheim:
1 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min27.476
2 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min27.564
3 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min27.902
4 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari 1min28.402
5 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min28.420
6 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min28.495
7 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min28.513
8 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min28.516
9 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1min28.877
10 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min29.327
11 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min29.364
12 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min29.719
13 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min29.785
14 Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min30.090
15 Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia 1min30.220
16 Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams 1min30.291
17 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham 1min30.331
18 Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min30.437
19 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min30.617
20 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min31.207
21 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min32.241
22 Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1min32.349
23 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min32.777
24 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT 1min42.566

First practice session results from the German Grand Prix:

1 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min16.595
2 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1min17.093
3 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min17.370
4 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1min17.382
5 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 1min17.413
6 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min17.599
7 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min17.915
8 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min17.995
9 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min18.020
10 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min18.130
11 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1min18.226
12 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull 1min18.339
13 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 1min18.422
14 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min18.709
15 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus - Renault 1min18.831
16 Jules Bianchi (France) Force India 1min18.972
17 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min19.039
18 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham 1min19.674
19 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham 1min19.963
20 Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull 1min20.122
21 Charles Pic (France) Marussia 1min20.169
22 Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia 1min20.539
23 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT 1min21.138
24 Dani Clos (Spain) HRT 1min21.740

Stay with Wheels24 for the German Grand Prix Formula 1 weekend!