New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

2016 Chinese GP: Rosberg wins 3 in a row for Merc

2016-04-17 10:06

HAT TRICK CHAMP: Mercedes Nico Rosberg has won his thrid win of the season at the 2016 Chinese GP. Image: AFP / Wang Zhao

Nico Rosberg of Mercedes captured the 2016 Chinese Grand Prix with ease on Sunday to extend his perfect start to the Formula 1 season and become just the fourth driver in history to win six straight races.

Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel, who collided with teammate Kimi Raikkonen at the first corner, finished second, 37.7 seconds behind Rosberg, while Red Bull's Daniil Kvyat used an aggressive race strategy to take third — only the second podium of the 21-year-old's career.

As it happened: 2016 Chinese GP

Rosberg started on pole position and led nearly the entire race by a wide margin to win his third race to start this season and his sixth consecutive dating back to last year.

Every driver who has started an F1 season with three straight wins went on to win the title that year.

1 Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes) 1h38min53.891
2 Sebastian Vettel (GER/Ferrari) at 37.776
3 Daniil Kvyat (RUS/Red Bull) at 45.936
4 Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Red Bull) 52.688 
5. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Ferrari) 1:05.872
6. Felipe Massa (BRA/Williams) 1:15.511
7. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes) 1:18.230
8. Max Verstappen (NED/Toro Rosso) 1:19.268
9. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP/Toro Rosso) 1:24.127
10. Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Williams) 1:26.192
11. Sergio Perez (MEX/Force India) 1:34.283
12. Fernando Alonso (ESP/McLaren-Honda) 1:37.253 
13. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren-Honda), 1:41.990 
14. Esteban Gutierrez (MEX/Haas) 1 lap
15. Nico Hlkenberg (GER/Force India) 1 lap 
16. Marcus Ericsson (SWE/Sauber) 1 lap 
17. Kevin Magnussen (DEN/Renault) 1 lap
18. Pascal Wehrlein (GER/Manor) 1 lap 
19. Romain Grosjean (FRA/Haas) 1 lap
20. Felipe Nasr (BRA/Sauber) 1 lap 
21. Rio Haryanto (INA/Manor) 1 lap 
22. Jolyon Palmer (GBR/Renault) 1 lap

Read more on:    2016 chinese gp  |  china  |  shanghai  |  motorsport  |  formula 1

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.