WATCH: Celebrating the iconic GTR

Wheels24 contributor Ferdi De Vos takes a look at the history of the Nissan Skyline GT-R, Japan's most iconic performance car.

First Lamborghini Aventador SVJ now in SA

The first Lamborghini Aventador SVJ has just been shipped into SA for a cool R9 695 000 and it's absolutely breathtaking.

2015 Singapore GP by the numbers

2015-09-17 07:18

BEATING THE HAZE: Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton hopes to continue his dominance in 2015 with a win at the 2015 Singapore GP. Image: AFP / Olivier Morin

Singapore, Singapore - Organisers of the 2015 Singapore GP said the haze threat caused by forest fires in Indonesia is volatile

Despite the threat, organisers said there were no plans to amend the programme of the nighttime street-circuit race and the glitzy public entertainment shows that come with it based on the current air quality levels, but acknowledged the situation was volatile.

Singapore GP history

First, let's have a look at the history of the Singapore race, the first F1 grand prix to be held at night.

Only three drivers, all world champions, have won at the Marina Bay circuit. Alonso (2008, 2010), Vettel (2011, 2012, 2013), Hamilton (2009, 2014).

The race has been won from pole position on five occasions. The lowest winning grid position was Alonso, who came from 15th place in a now-notorious 2008 race that saw his Brazilian team mate Nelson Piquet crash deliberately on team orders.

There has been at least one safety car intervention in every race in Singapore so far.

The race is the longest on the calendar in terms of time taken to complete, ranging from between one hour and 56 minutes to the time limit of two hours.

Let's go! #Redseason #ScuderiaFerrari #SingaporeGp #Ferrari #F1 #PrancingHorse

A video posted by Scuderia Ferrari (@scuderiaferrari) on

Check out race and track statistics for the 2015 Singapore GP:

Lap distance: 5.065km. Total distance: 308.828km (61 laps)

Race lap record: Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min48.574 seconds. (2013)

2014 pole: Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes

2014 winner: Lewis  Hamilton

Start time: 1200 GMT (8pm local time)

Tyres: Supersoft (red), Soft (yellow)


Mercedes have had seven one-twos this season and won 10 of 12 races. Double world champion Hamilton has won seven. No driver has ever failed to take the title after winning eight or more races in a season.

Four-times world champion Sebastian Vettel has 41 career wins, Hamilton is on 40 and Fernando Alonso 32. Kimi Raikkonen has won 20 races, Jenson Button 15 and Rosberg 11.

One more win for Hamilton would equal the career tally of the late Brazilian triple champion Ayrton Senna, his boyhood idol. If the Hamilton wins in Singapore, his 41 will be from the same number of races (161).

Ferrari have won 223 races, McLaren 182, Williams 114 and Red Bull 50. Mercedes have won 39.

McLaren have not won for 50 races, a run that dates back to Brazil 2012 and is the team's worst since they went 53 races without a win between the 1977 Japanese Grand Prix and 1981 British GP.

Lewis Hamilton vs Ayrton Senna

Hamilton Senna

Races started 160 - 161

Wins 40 - 41

Poles 49 - 65

Podiums 81 - 80

Titles 2 - 3

Front row starts 84 - 87

Fastest laps 25 - 19

Pole position

Mercedes have been on pole for the last 23 races and are set to equal the record of 24 set by Williams in 1992-93.

Hamilton has been on pole in 11 of 12 races this season, including the last seven in a row. The Briton has 49 career poles, Rosberg 16.

Only two drivers in F1 history have had 50 poles or more - Michael Schumacher (68) and Senna (65).

Hamilton can take his 20th successive front row start this weekend and move closer to Senna's record of 24.

The last non-Mercedes pole was Austria, 2014. Ferrari's last pole was in Germany with Alonso in 2012.


Nine drivers from five teams have been on the podium in 2015: Hamilton, Rosberg (Mercedes), Vettel, Raikkonen (Ferrari), Valtteri Bottas, Felipe Massa (Williams), Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) and Romain Grosjean (Lotus).

Hamilton, Rosberg and Vettel have shared the podium in six races.


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.