Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Singapore GP: Vettel on pole, Lewis denied record

2015-09-19 16:07

FIRST NON-MERC POLE IN 2015: Sebastian Vettel will start the 2015 Singapore GP on pole position. Image: AP / Mark Baker

Singapore - Sebastian Vettel broke Mercedes' qualifying stranglehold to secure a first pole position of the season for Ferrari at the 2015 Singapore Grand Prix on Saturday.

Championship leader Lewis Hamilton had roared to 11 poles in 12 races, with his team mate Nico Rosberg claiming the other, but neither could prevent Vettel from lapping quickest at the Marina Bay Street Circuit on a balmy Singapore evening.

The four-time world champion clocked 1min43.885 around the 23-turn 5.065km floodlit circuit to edge out Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo as Ferrari claimed their first pole position since the German Grand Prix in July 2012.

Hamilton's record bid denied

Kimi Raikkonen and Daniil Kvyat will make up the second row on a circuit that is notoriously difficult to overtake on with the pole sitter winning five of the seven grands prix to have taken place in the city-state since it joined the series in 2008.

Hamilton and Rosberg qualified in fifth and sixth respectively. Vettel denied Lewis Hamilton a record-equalling eighth straight pole position.

With seven rounds remaining, defending world champion Hamilton leads Rosberg by 53 points with Vettel a further 21 points adrift of his fellow German.

As it happened: 2015 Singapore GP - Qualifying

2015 Singapore Grand Prix at Marina Bay Street Circuit: Results

1. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Ferrari) 1:43.885
2. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Red Bull-Renault) 1:44.428
3. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Ferrari) 1:44.667
4. Daniil Kvyat (RUS/Red Bull-Renault) 1:44.745
5. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes) 1:45.300
6. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes) 1:45.415
7. Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Williams-Mercedes) 1:45.676
8. Max Verstappen (NED/Toro Rosso-Renault) 1:45.798
9. Felipe Massa (BRA/Williams-Mercedes) 1:46.077
10. Romain Grosjean (FRA/Lotus-Mercedes) 1:46.413

Eliminated in Q2:

11. Nico Hulkenberg (GER/Force India-Mercedes)
12. Fernando Alonso (ESP/McLaren-Honda)
13. Sergio Perez (MEX/Force India-Mercedes)
14. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP/Toro Rosso-Renault)
15. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren-Honda)

Eliminated in Q1:

16. Felipe Nasr (BRA/Sauber-Ferrari)
17. Marcus Ericsson (SWE/Sauber-Ferrari)
18. Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Lotus-Mercedes)
19. Will Stevens (GBR/Manor-Ferrari)
20. Alexander Rossi (USA/Manor-Ferrari)

Third practice

Second practice

First practice

Stay with Wheels24 for the 2015 Singapore Grand Prix


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.