New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Canadian GP: Rosberg quickest, Lewis last

2015-06-06 18:09

SETTING THE PACE SETTER: Mercedes' Nico Rosberg set the fastest time during third practice ahead of the Canadian GP. Image: AFP/Clive Mason

MONTREAL, Canada - Nico Rosberg set the fastest lap in the final practice session for the 2015 Canadian GP, while team mate Lewis Hamilton was slowest.

Rosberg completed the 4.3km Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in 1min15 on Saturday. Kimi Raikkonen was second-fastest, almost a half-second behind.


Hamilton, the championship leader, was almost six seconds behind his Mercedes team mate. The three-time Canadian GP winner is looking to bounce back from his team's strategic error at Monaco that cost him a chance at a fourth victory in 2015.

Sauber driver Felipe Nasr brought out a red flag with a crash on a straightaway when he lost control of his car while trying to warm his tyres. McLaren Honda’s Jenson Button, the 2011 Canadian GP winner, pulled off the road late in the session, reporting a "massive loss of power."

Button's team mate Fernando Alonso managed only three laps after sitting out most of the morning as mechanics installed a new Honda power unit.

2015 Canadian Grand Prix at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve: Free practice times

Third practice

1 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min15.660
2 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1min16.233
3 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min16.772
4 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 1min16.914
5 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 1min16.993
6 Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Red Bull  1min17.021
7 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 1min17.122
8 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 1min17.197
9 Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso  1min17.396
10 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus  1min17.573
11 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber  1min17.578
12 Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Force India  1min17.876
13 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull  1min17.892
14 Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber  1min18.446
15 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min18.473
16 Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso  1min18.492
17 Will Stevens (Britain) Marussia  1min19.822
18 Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 1min19.874
19 Roberto Merhi (Spain) Marussia 1min20.231
20 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1min21.492

Second practice

First practice

Stay with Wheels24 for the 2015 F1 season – fresh reports every day.


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.