2014 Malaysian GP: Third practice

2014-03-29 09:14

SEPANG, Malaysia - Nico Rosberg gave Mercedes a clean sweep of the practice sessions ahead of the 2014 Malaysian Grand Prix by topping the timesheets in the third and final one before qualifying later on Saturday (March 29).

Rosberg, who won the season opening race in Melbourne a fortnight ago, recorded a best lap of 1min 39.008 seconds at the Sepang Circuit on Saturday, just ahead of team mate Lewis Hamilton.


Hamilton had recorded the best time in Friday's (March 28) first session before being bettered by Rosberg in the second with the Briton struggling for grip in both 90 minute runs and sliding off the hot track.

Hamilton ran wide again in the last 60 minute run and also required his seat adjusting midway through Saturday's session as he finished 0.232 seconds behind Rosberg.


Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen was third quickest, more than a second down on Rosberg, with World Champion Sebastian Vettel fourth for Red Bull in 1min40.387.

Nico Hulkenberg was fifth for Force India ahead of Vettel's Red Bull team mate Daniel Ricciardo, who was disqualified from the Melbourne raceover a fuel flow issuethat has continued to dog the team in Malaysia.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso was down in seventh, suggesting he will find it tough to keep pace with the Mercedes during Sunday's (March 30) race.

Lotus had their most productive practice session in Malaysia with both Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado able to record lap times but Grosjean complained that the rear end of the car was 'a disaster' upon driving back to the garage.

McLaren also suffered problems with rookie Kevin Magnussen complaining about a lack of power as he finished the session as the only driver not to set a time.

His team mate Jenson Button faired little better, completing only four laps.

Qualifying for Sunday's race starts at 10:00am (SA local time) on Saturday.
Third practice - 2014 Malaysian F1 GP
1 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min39.008
2 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1min39.240
3 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1min40.156
4 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull - Renault 1min40.387
5 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 1min40.523
6 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull - Renault 1min40.686
7 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min40.736
8 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 1min40.781
9 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes 1min40.891
10 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - Mercedes 1min41.029
11 Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso - Renault 1min41.182
12 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - Renault 1min41.441
13 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari 1min41.552
14 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari 1min42.041
15 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault 1min42.749
16 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus - Renault 1min43.539
17 Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia - Ferrari 1min43.977
18 Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia - Ferrari 1min44.170
19 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Caterham - Renault 1min44.457
20 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Caterham - Renault 1min46.015
21 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 2min05.555
22 Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren

Second practice
First practice

Stay with Wheels24 for the 2014 Malaysian GP