On the road during lockdown

Here's what motorists should know.

Meet Smokey Nagata

The man behind the legendary twin-turbo V12 Toyota Supra build.

Explained | Volvo has interesting trim levels - here's what each one means

2020-05-02 12:30

Nikki Chennels

refreshed Volvo XC90 R-Design T8 Twin Engine

The refreshed Volvo XC90 R-Design T8 Twin Engine in Thunder Grey. Image: Volvo

Most automakers have their own trim level line to differentiate between spec levels or derivatives in their model ranges or line-ups. Ford, for instance, has Trend, Ambiente, and Titanium while Volkswagen's range goes from Trendline, Comfortline, to GTI, or 'R'.

There's usually a 'base' or entry-level model, a mid-spec, and a range-topper which sits right at the high-end of the model range. And, if you don't know too much about cars or a specific brand, these trim levels might be nothing but foreign terminology to some of us.

Volvo has three different specification levels: Momentum, Inscription and R-Design. What is the difference between these three? We have the full rundown for you:

Do you have a favourite trim level with an automaker? Email us and share what it is.


This is the entry-level specification (not that there is actually anything remotely entry-level-like about any of the vehicles in the Volvo range). We say this because Momentum is the most affordable option when it comes to specification levels.

The cars are anything but basic; even a Momentum-spec'd Volvo is decidedly luxurious and elegant – and its high level of standard equipment will more than meet drivers' demands when it comes to style, comfort, safety and sophisticated design. For instance, the Momentum-spec'd XC90 still features leather upholstery. And the XC40 boasts glorious aluminium decor inlays.

Who should opt for this spec level? Someone who appreciates quality.

 Volvo XC90 R-Design T8 Twin Engine


This is for the extra-discerning motorist who doesn't just want an incredible experience; he or she demands something genuinely exceptional. Even more premium than the Momentum-spec'd derivatives, the Inscription specification level ups the ante even further when it comes to luxury and style.

The XC40, for instance, has driftwood decor inlays while the XC90 comes with soft Nappa leather upholstery. While on the subject of seats, the XC90 also comes with power-adjustable driver and passenger seats with memory function. 

Another example is the XC60 in Inscription guise, which has 19" 10-Spoke Black Diamond Cut alloy wheels (versus the 18" 5-Y Spoke Silver Alloy wheels on the Momentum).

Who should opt for this spec level? Anyone who likes the finer things in life.

refreshed Volvo XC90 R-Design T8 Twin Engine

Image: Volvo


This is the sporty option in the Volvo range – the vehicles are adorned with a variety of sporty interior and exterior features – and they boast some exceptional mechanical underpinnings too.

Take the Volvo XC60 R-Design, for instance. It boasts sculpted R-Design front seats. Everything – from the R-Design steering wheel and sports pedals to the Charcoal headlining – is there to inspire and support driving. And for an even more energetic, road-hugging drive, the XC60 R-Design benefits from an advanced sport chassis.

Who should opt for this spec level? Any motorist wanting an exhilarating driving experience.

Read more on:    volvo  |  nikki chennels  |  new models  |  specifications

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.