5 motorsport documentaries

Here are five motorsport to watch while you're at home.

Women’s team for BMW’s 2020 International GS Trophy announced

2019-11-01 09:50

Dries van der Walt

BMW 2020 International GS Trophy

Image: Dries van der Walt

31 women from 20 countries around the world competed fiercely to qualify for one of the six places on offer for the seventh BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy, which will be held in New Zealand in February 2020. 

The Female Team Qualifier 2019 came to an exciting finish after three days of competitive adventure riding near Málaga, Spain, a fit conclusion for an event that is becoming increasingly successful.

Competition for places

The first female qualifier, held in 2015, saw 10 finalists picked from over 100 applicants. In 2017, 23 competitors won their place in the female final through their local GS Trophy qualifiers.

READ | Montagu sets the scene for 2018 BMW Motorrad SA GS Trophy

This year, thanks to the growth in interest from international GS communities, 32 women qualified for the final. The growth both in numbers and riding quality reflects the continued worldwide rise in women’s interest in adventure motorcycling.

BMW 2020 International GS Trophy

                                                                      Image: Supplied

This year’s qualifier also welcomed eight newly participating countries: Argentina, Brazil, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Netherlands and Norway. 

The presence of competitors from some of these countries is a positive reflection of the changing attitudes towards women participating in recreational motorcycling. Two South African riders, Chantel Blake and Christelle van der Meulen, made it into the final but unfortunately didn’t qualify for the team.

BMW 2020 International GS Trophy

                                                                         Image: Supplied

However, finishing in 7th and 9th positions respectively in such a competitive event gives them ample reason to be proud.

The six riders who ultimately qualified for inclusion in the women’s team for the International GS Trophy 2020 are Isabella Londono Rivas from Colombia, Nikki van der Spek from the Netherlands, Claire Bichard from France, Lisa Taylor from the USA, Andrea Box from Australia and Klara Finkele from the United Kingdom.

Read more on:    bmw  |  dries van der walt  |  bikes

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.