WIN | Kyalami 9 Hour double tickets!

Win a set of 5 VIP double tickets or a set of four general access tickets to the Kyalami 9 Hour season finale on November 23.

WATCH: Best save ever?

South African Moto2 rider Steven Odendaal pulled off one of the greatest 'saves' in motorsport at the Czech GP.

Well done Binder! SA rider claims first GP win for SA since 1981

2016-04-25 08:03

BINDER, BINDER, BINDER! SA-born Brad Binder secured his maiden race win at the 2016 Jerez Moto3 GP after starting in last place due to technical difficulties.Image: AP

Jerez, Spain - South African Brad Binder on a KTM won the Moto3 race in the 2016 Spanish GP meeting at Jerez de la Frontera on Sunday (April 24).

The current series leader chalked up his first win of the season ahead of Italian team mate Nicolo Bulega (KTM) and another Italian, Francesco Bagnaia, on a Mahindra.

Binder started from the back of the grid due to a penalty incurred for a technical issue on his KTM.

Starting from the rear of the grid

Binder forced his way up from 35th to 15th in two laps and powered his way into top 10 after just six laps of the tough circuit. He was soon battling for a podium spot by lap 14 and took a commanding lead by lap 18.

The South African extends his lead in the riders' standings to 15 points ahead of Navarro.

Binder's success was the first for a South African in the world championship since Jon Ekerold in 1981 in the since-disappeared 350cc category.

Race results

1 Brad Binder (RSA/KTM) 41min 29.882sec 
2 Nicolo Bulega (ITA/KTM) at 3.336sec
3 Francesco Bagnaia (ITA/Mahindra) 3.441
4 Jorge Navarro (ESP/Honda) 3.513
5 Jakub Kornfeil (CZE/Honda) 13.728
6 Joan Mir (ESP/KTM) 14.933
7 Romano Fenati (ITA/KTM) 13.993
8 Enea Bastianini (ITA/Honda)14.052
9 Jules Danilo (FRA/Honda) 14.409
10 Philipp Oettl (GER/KTM) 14.588

Championship standings (after four races)

1 Brad Binder (RSA/KTM) 77 points
2 Jorge Navarro (ESP/Honda) 62
3 Romano Fenati (ITA/KTM) 47
4 Nicolo Bulega (ITA/KTM) 36
5 Francesco Bagnaia (ITA/Mahindra) 34
6 Niccolo Antonelli (ITA/Honda) 31
7 Enea Bastianini (ITA/Honda) 29
8 Jakub Kornfeil (CZE/Honda) 29
9 Khairul Idham Pawi (MAL/Honda) 27
10 Philipp Oettl (GER/KTM) 27

Read more on:    brad binder  |  south africa  |  motogp  |  motorsport

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.