Honda NC750X – the case for fuel economy

'With the recent double-whammy of financial rating downgrades set to wreak havoc on our economy, however, even bikers are edgy about increased fuel costs,' writes Dries Van der Walt.

WATCH: Bike almost squashes rider

The British MotoGP was reduced to 19 laps after it was halted following a brutal first-lap collision between Loris Baz and Pol Espargaro.

Youngsters line up for Winterberg

2013-08-15 08:19

DUSTY FLASHBACK: The weather could be radically different in the Eastern Cape this weekend when a round of the JUnior National championship is run near Hankey. Image: Supplied

HANKEY, Eastern Cape - Young off-road motorcycle and quad competitors in the will tackle the 2013 Winterberg Junior National near here on August 17, Round 3 and the halfway mark of the season.

Anything can still happen in the battles for the class titles after the three-month break.

Young competitors aged seven to 17 will travel from all over South Africa to compete in the Winterberg event organised by the Rover Motorcycle Club.

Damien Scott (Yamaha), leading the Open Motorcycle Class, is still recovering from an injury and won't race so the riders behind him have a chance to catch up. The winner of the second event, Travis Teasdale (Husaberg), will go for his second victory; he didn’t finish the season-opener in Lesotho (Scott won) so would like to close the gap to the riders ahead.

Among them are newcomers Jason Jones (KTM), second behind Scott in the class, and only one point ahead of Middelburg’s Mauritz Meiring, Tyler Robins and the Cape’s Eamonn Sullivan (each on a Yamaha) who are just behind Meiring and sharing points.

Scott’s team mate Kyle Flanagan is just behind Robins and Sullivan but will hope to stay ahead of Matatiele’s Henco Botha (Kawasaki).

125cc Motorcycles

The 125cc Motorcycle Class has again been very competitive this season and produced two winners, one of them Port Elizabeth rider, Angus Coetzee (Yamaha) won the most recent event. He wants a good result to pull away from team mate Dylan Barker who won the season-opener – they share points.

The Cape’s Aeron Thompson (KTM) is third.

The class is filled with KZN riders covered by only a few points after the first two rounds. Fourth-placed Cullim Symons (Yamaha) is only two points ahead Alex O’Donnell (Yamaha) with Chayse Orsmond (Husaberg) and Corbin Lamb (Husqvarna) only a point apart and rounding off the top 10 in class.

Senior 85cc Class

All the main contenders in the Senior 85cc Class will be on the grid. Dean Lindsay (Yamaha) leads after two victories but behind him KZN’s Tristin Asher-Wood (KTM) and Daniel van Zyl (KTM), who have the same points, as well as Lindsay’s team mate fourth-placed Eduan Bester (Kawasaki), have all been on the podium this season.

Calvin Hume (Kawasaki) rounds off the top five.

Junior 85cc Class

The Junior 85cc Class has received a healthy number of entrants for the first two rounds of the National season and most will tackle the Winterberg. The leading 15 have all competed in both events and scored points.

The leading four are all from KZN with KTM’s Kayde Mante and David Odendaal sharing points after a win and second place each. Odendaal’s team mate Stefan van Deventer (Yamaha) is not too far behind in third and ahead of Matthew Green (KTM) by two points. Eric McLean (KTM) is three points behind Green and rounds off the top five.

Junior 65cc Class

Five riders aged seven to 11 have entered the Junior 65cc Class whose current leader Noah Maartens (KTM) wants a hat trick. Team mate Shaun Wallis will compete in his second National event while second-placed Gunter Foit (Husqvarna) and Matthew Wilson (KTM), each from Gauteng, and Cape rider Max Ledgerwood (Yamaha) will all be competing.


The quad category is short on entries but regulars Jade Schutte (Yamaha) and Berné Bester (Suzuki) will again be in action.

The Winterberg Junior National will start on Saturday August 17 from the PPC terrain in the Hankey area and follow a scenic route. Junior riders will tackle their two-hour race from 8.30am, Seniors will race for about three hours and start at 11.30am.


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.