Honda NC750X – the case for fuel economy

'With the recent double-whammy of financial rating downgrades set to wreak havoc on our economy, however, even bikers are edgy about increased fuel costs,' writes Dries Van der Walt.

WATCH: Bike almost squashes rider

The British MotoGP was reduced to 19 laps after it was halted following a brutal first-lap collision between Loris Baz and Pol Espargaro.

Swart reigns at Cape Karts weekend

2015-07-27 11:34

DRIVER ON TOP: Jurie Swart was dominant at the 2015 Western Province Karting championship meeting at Killarney on July 25. Image: Mark Zeeman

KILLARNEY, Cape Town - Round 4 of the Western Province Karting championships saw Umpie Swart in dominant form on a bright but chilly Killarney track on Saturday.

Swart, entered in two classes, took maximum points in the Rotax Max Challenge and DD2 Gearbox classes.

DD2 saw Swart (Birel) stride away from Jonathan Thomas (CRG) who took second in each of the three races while Tristan de Nobrega (CRG) and Marco Busi (CRG) shared third with De Nobrega, masters winner Johan Hamman, Wesley Jones, Busi and visitor Shaun Gradwell next up.


Swart (Birel) likewise drove away from battling Kosmic duo Henry Bam and Chadley Swartz to take an easy Max Challenge 125cc win - Bam taking two seconds to Swart’s one - while Isabelle Fowler beat Byron Mitchell to fourth with Nicholas Jacobs and Christopher Vrettos next up.

Swart’s success should be a talking point at the next race when the so far dominant Jonathan Aberdein returns from European Rotax championship duty this weekend…

Dino Stermin (Kosmic) benefited from Race 1 winner Delano Fowler (Tony) being gobbled up by the pack in the last high-school 125cc Junior Max race to beat him two races to one and take the championship lead. Jason Coetzee (Kosmic), third ahead of a wild midfield that saw Sebastian Boyd emerge fourth from the twice-penalisedBusi, JP Hamman, Andrew Rackstraw and Giordano Lupini.


A delighted Charl Visser (Zanardi) emerged victorious over Joseph Oelz (Zanardi) and Aidan Strydom (Topkart) in the 60cc primary-school Maxterinos following a fraught day-long battle between the three with Visser winning two races to Oelz’s one.

An equally thrilling dice behind them saw Troy Dolinschek fourth from Tate Bishop, Kai Van Zijl, Tyler Croy and Simon Simpson-Heath.

Two wins in three under-eight Cadet races were good enough to see Jason MacBeath beat Joaquin de Oliveira and Race 2 winner Valentino Hoffman, with Paul Malcolm, Kyle Visser, Reese Koorzen, Reza Levy and Mischa Williams next up.

Kohen Bam (FA) took races two and three to win the six-speed X30 class after Race 1 winner Julian van der Watt (Zanardi) was sidelined for the day to leave Jacques de Bruyn’s three thirds to bring him second over Stephen Wells, Werner Grundlingh, Elruco du Plessis, Joshua Dolinschek and Peet van der Walt in another day highlighted by retirements in the class.


Dylan Mitchell and Christopher Vrettos shared overall Clubmans wins; James Fraser took Class B; Andrew Thomas scored another three Class C wins to open up a fair overall championship win.

The second half of the WP championship will start on August 22, a week after Round 4 of the SA National championship at iDube in KwaZulu Natal.

  LIGHT BLUE TOUCHPAPER: The Junior Max midfield lights up at Killarney. Image: Mark Zeeman

Read more on:    killarney  |  cape town  |  karting

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.