Honda NC750X – the case for fuel economy

'With the recent double-whammy of financial rating downgrades set to wreak havoc on our economy, however, even bikers are edgy about increased fuel costs,' writes Dries Van der Walt.

WATCH: Bike almost squashes rider

The British MotoGP was reduced to 19 laps after it was halted following a brutal first-lap collision between Loris Baz and Pol Espargaro.

SA riders to battle at Red Star

2013-10-28 13:55

HEADED FOR RED STAR: Chris Leeson (left, BMW) and Nicolas Grobler (Kawasaki) will fight for the 2013 SA Superbike runner-up spot at Red Star Raceway. Image: TRACKSIDEPICS

The 2013 SA Motorcycle championships head into uncharted terrain on November 2 as both the 2013 National Superbike and 600 Supersport title final meeting will be held at the Red Star Raceway in Johannesburg.

The four-kilometre circuit has never hosted a National championship so it' likely many riders will be unfamiliar with its 13-corner layout.

Each category will tackle two 12-lap races on with 600 Supersport competitors confined to the same set of Michelin tyres for both races and qualifying.

Michelin’s motorsport expert Wayne Doran said: “Red Star Raceway is unknown territory for us... and it's be hard to predict handling characteristics. As always, the experienced riders will find better race-settings than others, and we do not expect huge upsets in the results.”


Clinton’s Seller (Kawasaki) has been crowned 2013 Superbike champion. Nicolas Grobler (Kawasaki) and Chris Leeson BMW) will be fighting for second place.

Local riders will be joined by "foreign" riders, among them Greg Gildenhuys (BMW), David McFadden (Kawasaki) and Sheridan Morais (Yamaha R1).

Others who could interfere with Grobler/Leeson’s battle are Ryan Ottens (BMW), Dylan Whyte (Yamaha), Ryan van Aswegen (Kawasaki), Robert Portman (Yamaha) and Anthony Shelley (Kawasaki).


Cameron Petersen (MV Agusta) will be the favourite to clinch the 2013 600 Supersport title. Rival veteran Lance Isaacs (Kawasaki) will need to win both heats and Petersen has to score zero for the Kawasaki rider to take the title.

Also able to fight for victories will be Nicholas Kershaw (Kawasaki), Dean Vos (Yamaha), Brent Harran (MV Agusta), Anthony Shelley (Kawasaki) and Sharl Wasserfall (Kawasaki). Joining the grid will be youngster Darryn Binder, who won at Phakisa on his Yamaha, and possibly Sheridan Morais on a Yamaha R6.

Heading up the mid-field battle should be Gareth Davidson (Kawasaki), Nicole van Aswegen (Triumph), Rhyno Stander (Kawasaki) and Ricky Weare (Kawasaki).
Read more on:    south africa  |  motorsport  |  bikers  |  riders

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.