Honda NC750X – the case for fuel economy

'With the recent double-whammy of financial rating downgrades set to wreak havoc on our economy, however, even bikers are edgy about increased fuel costs,' writes Dries Van der Walt.

WATCH: Bike almost squashes rider

The British MotoGP was reduced to 19 laps after it was halted following a brutal first-lap collision between Loris Baz and Pol Espargaro.

SA Roks head to kart showdown in Italy

2014-10-08 14:13

TAKING ON THE ROK: Karters head to Italy to compete in the Rok International Final. Front (from left) - Keagan Blackansee, Keagan Masters, Jason Smith and Jason Hill. From rear left - Tyrone Le Roux and Wayne Masters. Image: Clyde Hill

With South African drivers owning six World championship titles from the Rok International Final local drivers will again have a strong presence at the CIK-FIA sanctioned 2014 event in Italy over October 23-25.

The South Garda kart circuit in Lonato, Italy, will see 25 South Africans and one Zimbabwean compete for World championship titles in four classes.

Those who finished firs tin their respective classes at the 2014 SA Rok championship were automatically qualified for the Italian event and wild-card entries have been offered to drivers deemed to have shown “pace and commitment” during the season.


In the Mini Rok class (up to 13 years) champion JP Hamman will be joined by Blaine Rademeyer, Jordan North, Altan Bouw, Trennan Bettany, Cameron O’Connor, Charl Visser, Dillon Van Vuuren, Nemo Mazwai, Sa Ood Variewa, Za eem Goolam, Zimbawean Zachary Dufty and Joshua Coertze.

The Junior Rok (13-15 years) class will have a strong line-up with current SA champion, Kashen Naicker, as well as Jason Smith, Luca Munaretto, Sisa Ngebulana, Luke Hill, Kelvin Steinhobel and Stuart White.

White is the 2013 double South Africa champion and proved his worth at the top of the International competitions.


Veterans will race in the Super Rok class, with 2013 Junior Rok SA champ and 2014  Super Rok runner-up Keagan Masters leading the list of SA drivers. Jason Hill and Phillip Viljoen, Julian van der Watt and Jonathan Aberdein will also be in this class.

The Rok Shifter class, positioned above the Super Rok, is the new Rok karting gearbox class and since it isn’t available in SA there were no automatic qualifiers. Due to South Africa’s record in the championships, invitations were extended to 2012 Rok World champion Nathan Parkins and Trent Varejes.


Wesleigh Orr started South Africa’s run of glory when he won the crown in 2004. In 2006, Kyle Mitchell took the Junior Rok crown and Roman de Beer earned it in 2009.

In 2010 Orr took the Super Rok title. In that year, Orr and Simon Moss clinched the Super Rok Nations Cup and Mathew Swanepoel and Mitchell Licen scooped the Junior Rok Nations Cup.

In 2013 Clinton Bezuidenhout walked off with Mini Rok honours and Nathan Parkins was victorious in the Rok Cup.

The 2014 Rok International drivers: Classes and Regions
Mini Rok:
Western Cape - JP Hamman  
Gauteng - Blaine Rademeyer
Eastern Cape - Joshua Coetze
Gauteng- Jordan North
Gauteng- Cameron O'Connor
Western Cape - Charl Visser    
Gauteng - Dillon van Vuuren   
Gauteng- Nemo Mazwai
Gauteng- Trennan Bettany
Gauteng- Sa Ood Variewa
Gauteng- Za Eem Goolam
Gauteng- Altan Bouw
Zimbabwe  - Zachary Dufty
Junior Rok:
Gauteng   Kashen Naicker
Gauteng   Jason Smith
Gauteng   Luca Munaretto
Gauteng   Sisa Ngebulana    
Free State  Stuart White
Gauteng   Luke Hill
Gauteng   Kelvin Steinhobel

Super Rok:
Gauteng  Keagan Masters
Gauteng  Jason Hill
Fee State Phillip Viljoen
Western Cape  Jonathan Aberdein
Western Cape  Julin van der Watt
Rok Shifter:
Gauteng  Trent Varejes,
Gauteng  Nathan Parkins

Read more on:    italy  |  karting  |  motorsport

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.