Honda NC750X – the case for fuel economy

'With the recent double-whammy of financial rating downgrades set to wreak havoc on our economy, however, even bikers are edgy about increased fuel costs,' writes Dries Van der Walt.

WATCH: Bike almost squashes rider

The British MotoGP was reduced to 19 laps after it was halted following a brutal first-lap collision between Loris Baz and Pol Espargaro.

MotoGP 2014: Laguna Seca race dropped

2013-10-03 12:16


DROPPED FROM THE CALENDAR: According to the 19-race provisional calendar, the US won’t see a 16th MotoGP race at Laguna Seca.Image: AFP

LONDON, England - The US will have only two MotoGP races in 2014 as Laguna Seca has been left off a published 19-race provisional calendar.

Brazil and Argentina, however, are scheduled to return to the calendar.

The Americas Grand Prix in Austin, Texas and Indianapolis GP both remain, set to be held in April and August respectively. Spain, home of World champion Jorge Lorenzo and championship leader Marc Marque, will continue to host four races.


Laguna Seca organisers said in a statement that it could no longer compete with the other US venues: "For 25 years Laguna Seca has served as the ‘home' for Grand Prix motorcycle racing in the US, having staged 15 since 1988.

"Unfortunately, and despite loyal support from fans, sponsors and media, there will not be a 16th in 2014. At this time, the US is only able to support two MotoGP events. The support provided by the states of Texas and Indiana make it difficult for us, as a 'not-for-profit', to compete."

Argentina will host a race at its new Termas de Rio Hondo circuit on April 27 2013 and Brazil will host a race on September 28, subject to the track being homologated.

Brazil last hosted a race in 2004 while Argentina has been absent since 1999.

Here's the provisional 2014 MotoGP calendar:
March 23 - Qatar (Doha)
April 13 - Americas (Austin, Texas)
April 27 - Argentina (Termas de Rio Hondo)
May 4 - Spain (Jerez)
May 18 - France (Le Mans)
June 1 - Italy (Mugello)
June 15 - Catalunya (Barcelona)
June 28 - Netherlands (Assen)
July 13 - Germany (Sachsenring)
Aug. 10 - Indianapolis
Aug. 17 - Czech Republic (Brno)
Aug. 31 - Britain (Silverstone)
Sept. 14 - San Marino (Misano)
Sept. 21 - Aragon (Motorland Aragon, Spain)
Sept. 28 - Brazil (Brasilia)
Oct. 12 - Malaysia (Sepang)
Oct. 19 - Japan (Motegi)
Oct. 26 - Australia (Phillip Island)
Nov. 9 - Valencia, Spain
Read more on:    spain  |  usa  |  motogp  |  motorsport  |  racing

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.