Junior National champs crowned

2012-10-16 10:48

The Mvoti Barkbuster Junior National, the final round of the 2012 South African Junior National championship, took place this past weekend (October 13) in the Greytown area of kwaZulu-Natal.

The event produced great racing action as young off-road motorcycle and quad competitors battled it out for the championship titles and final standings for the season on an enjoyable route.


In the Senior motorcycle category, there were more victories for Andrew Wren (Yamaha), who has not been on the top step of the Senior Open Class podium since March 2012, the same for the 125cc Class leader, Travis Teasdale (Yamaha). Wren’s victory resulted in him clinching the championship title for the season while Teasdale had no problem doing so in the 125cc Class championship after winning four of the six events.

Going into the event, Wren was trailing Senior Open Class leader,Louw Schmidt (Suzuki) by a handful of points but Schmidt crashed a few times and had to settle for fifth at Greytown and runner-up in the championship.

Damien Scott (Yamaha) finished second behind Wren and was followed by Ryan van Munster (Yamaha) who competed in his first Junior National off-road event. Estiaan Steenkamp (Yamaha), the only competitor to have entered every since its inception, was fourth in the Open Class. The 10 was made up of Jaycee Nienaber (Yamaha) who was sixth while his team mate Bradley Nortjie finished ninth after a crash; Donovan Farley (Yamaha) was seventh; Kyle Flannagan (Yamaha) eighth and Brendon Swanevelder (KTM) 10th after his first race in the championship.

The 125cc Class podium was rounded off by Teasdale’s team mate Angus Coetzee who finished on the podium for the third time this year. Roan Lindsay (KTM) claimed his best result of the season by rounding off the 125cc Class podium. Three seconds separated Aeron Thompson (KTM) in fourth place from Corbin Lamb (Husqvarna).

Also in the 125cc class top 10 was Alex O'Donnell who was sixth; Dylan Barker (Yamaha) was seventh after mechanical issues; Brendon Fourie (Husaberg) eighth; Cullim Symons (Yamaha) ninth and Ross Blackwell (KTM) rounded off the top 10.


Bradley Cox (KTM) was disappointed by his third in the Senior 85cc Class, but happy to have claimed his first Junior National championship title after winning five events during the season. He lost time when mud in the breather of his KTM stopped his bike. The class was won by Alastair Drennan (KTM), his first, and finished as the runner-up in the 2012 class championship. Dean Lindsay (Kawasaki) claimed his first podium place of the season, third, on the Senior 85cc Class podium at Greytown. Reghardt van Nieuwenhuizen (KTM) was fourth, Eduan Bester (Yamaha) fifth and Chayse Orsmond (Yamaha) sixth.

In the Senior Quad category Jaco Moller (Suzuki) secured the Senior Open championship with a fifth victory from seven events. Joshua Schenk (Yamaha) was second after claiming his fifth podium place just behind Moller while Kevin Crouse will be third for the year even though he could not finish the  Barkbuster because of a broken swing-arm on his Yamaha.

Wernich van der Walt (Yamaha) finished on the podium in KZN because Adrian Uys was excluded for receiving outside assistance when a rim on his Kawasaki broke. Wiam ‘Tjoppie’ Nutt (Suzuki) finished fourth for the day with Dillon Joubert (Yamaha) finishing last.


In the Junior Quad category, Joubert’s younger brother and team mate Tristan won for a third time in the 2012 season in the Junior Open Quad Class, beating Tyrone Renwick (Yamaha) who walked away with the 2012 class title. Janco Joubert (Honda) only started competing halfway through the season but scored his first podium position with Jade Schutte (Yamaha) fourth and Eathan van Rensburg (Yamaha) fifth after a crash.

Wilmarie Moller (Yamaha) won in the Junior Modified Quad Class even though she crashed and injured ribs but the 2012 championship was won by Brodie Jacobs (Yamaha) who could not finish the event due to a broken chain. He has however won the junior category (Modified and Junior Open Classes combined) three times this season and walked away as the Junior Quad champion.

A battle was raging in the Junior 85cc Class where Tristan Asher-Wood (KTM) claimed his fifth class victory this season and the Junior Motorcycle championship title (Junior 85cc and 65cc classes combined) for the year. Calvin Hume (Yamaha) scored his sixth podium position in the Junior 85cc Class by finishing second, but had to settle for the runner-up position in the championship as competitors had to drop their worst result of the season.

Asher-Wood did not finish the Montagu event and could therefore drop fewer points than Hume who had to get rid of a healthy amount of points. Kayde Mante (KTM) finished third in the class at Greytown and was followed by David Odendaal (KTM) with Daniel Castling Bolt (KTM) rounding off the top five. Travis Behrens (Yamaha) was sixth; Maarten van Jaarsveld (Yamaha) finished seventh and Michael Glockle (Yamaha) was eighth.

In the Junior 65c Class Stefan van Deventer (KTM) had to battle until the last lap to take the lead to claim his third class victory and the championship title for 2012. Matthew Green had an operation and could not compete. Myles Crookes (KTM) competed on national level for the first time and finished second. He was followed by Cameron Durow (KTM); Erik Merry (KTM) and the youngest rider, Noah Maartens (KTM) who started and completed only his third race in the national series.

The Junior National Championship will resume early in 2013.

  • damien.lopez.1848 - 2012-10-18 10:25

    Yeah Cape Town representing :D Well done Josh, Kevin, Tjoppie and Dillon :D hard luck Wernich. Still complete domination from the WPATV guys :D Tristan well done on the win :P

  • damien.lopez.1848 - 2012-10-18 10:30

    Lol I read wrong. Well done wernich :P

  • pages:
  • 1