DiCaprio enters Formula E team

Post a comment 3
 TEAM NO.10 SIGNS UP: (From left) Bert Hedaya, Leonardo DiCaprio, Gildo Pallanca Pastor and Francesco Costa attend the launch of Venturi’s entry into the Formula E series. Image: ~ Supplied
MONACO - Venturi Automobiles has announced a joint venture with award-winning actor and environmentalist Leonardo DiCaprio to enter a team in the new Formula E championship.

The Venturi Grand Prix Formula E Team has been co-founded by DiCaprio and Gildo Pallanca Pastor, founder of pioneering electric vehicle manufacturer Venturi Automobiles, together with Bert Hedaya and Francesco Costa.
Formula E is a new FIA Championship using electric single-seater race cars capable of speeds in excess of 225km/h and is scheduled to start in September 2014.


Teams, each with two drivers, will compete in 10 cities including Beijing, China, Los Angeles, USA and London, Britain.

DiCaprio said: “The future of our planet depends on our ability to embrace fuel-efficient, clean-energy vehicles. Venturi Grand Prix has shown tremendous foresight in their decision to create an environmentally friendly racing team, and I am happy to be a part of this effort.”
Venturi  is the tenth and final team to enter the series and joins Andretti Autosport, Dragon Racing, China Racing, Super Aguri, Mahindra Racing, Drayson Racing, e.dams, Audi Sport ABT and Virgin Racing.
Venturi Automobiles, a leader in high performance electric vehicles, holds the land speed record for an electric vehicle with 495km/h. The team also plans to become a Constructor, building its own Formula E car using an engine based on the one used in its 2200kW electric Venturi VBB-3.
Pastor said: “Venturi has been a pioneer in electric high performance vehicles for more than a decade and Formula E gives us the fantastic opportunity to further improve our advanced technologies through motorsport, as well as compete all over the world.

 “It also gives us the chance to be part of a new racing programme with a project that really shares Venturi’s values for clean mobility, innovation in the field of electric propulsion and energy efficiency optimisation.”

CEO of series promoters Formula E Holdings, Alejandro Agag, said: “It’s an honour and a pleasure to welcome the Venturi Grand Prix team as the tenth and final team of the FIA Formula E Championship.

 “Gildo is a true pioneer in electric racing. From Salt Lake to Antarctica, his passion and vision pushes forward the technology barriers of what can be done with an electric car. Gildo is not alone in this venture. Global entrepreneurs Francesco Costa and Bert Hedaya bring great experience and energy to the team.
“And of course, I want to give a very special welcome to our Championship to Leonardo DiCaprio. Very few environmental leaders have helped more than him to spread the message of sustainability around the world.
“Having people like him and Richard Branson - global ambassadors for the environment - is a privilege for our Championship and will help us massively to spread the use of electric cars in cities around the planet.”
2014/2015 FIA Formula E teams
1 Drayson Racing Formula E Team (UK)
2 China Racing Formula E Team (China)                         
3 Andretti Autosport Formula E Team (USA) 
4 Dragon Racing Formula E Team (USA)  
5 e.dams Formula E Team (France) 
6 Super Aguri Formula E Team (Japan) 
7 Audi Sport ABT Formula E Team (Germany) 
8 Mahindra Racing Formula E Team (India)  
9 Virgin Racing Formula E Team (UK) 
10 Venturi Grand Prix Formula E Team (Monaco)