Top new models for SA

From Renault's new Alaskan bakkie to the latest models at the Frankfurt motor show bound for SA.

Electric cars in SA

The debate on whether or not Electric Vehicles (EV) are viable in South Africa rages on.

WRC: Ogier victorious in Italy

2014-06-09 07:49

CELEBRATING IN ITALY: Sebastian Ogier (C) celebrates with his technicians on the podium after winning the 2014 Italian rally in Alghero, June 8, 2014. Image: AFP /ANDREAS SOLARO


ITALY, Sardinia -  Sebastien Ogier won the 2014 Italian Rally in Sardinia on Sunday (June 08) to chalk up Volkswagen's 10th successive victory and extend his lead in the championship to 33 points after six rounds.

The World Rally Champion took the lead on Saturday (June 7) after team mate Jari-Matti Latvala hit a rock and had to change a wheel, losing more than two minutes.

Ogier, who also took a bonus point in the final Power Stage, had an uneventful final day and won the gravel event with a 1min23.1advantage over second-placed Norwegian Mads Ostberg (Citroen).


Latvala finished third. Ogier now has 138 points to Latvala's 105, with Ostberg on 66.

The win was Ogier's fourth of the season, with Latvala winning the other two. Volkswagen beat Citroen's previous record of eight wins in a row in Argentina in May 2014.

Result from the 2014 Italian Rally:
1 Sebastien Ogier (France) VW 4hr02min37.8
2 Mads Ostberg (Norway) Citroen +1min23.1
3 Jari-Matti Latvala (Finland) VW +1min32.8
4 Andreas Mikkelsen (Norway) VW +2min39.3
5 Elfyn Evans (Britain) Ford +4min41.8
6 Martin Prokop (Czech Republic) Ford +6min05.3
7 Henning Solberg (Norway) Ford +7min15.8
8 Robert Kubica (Poland) Ford +12mni19.0
9 Lorenzo Bertelli (Italy) Ford +15min22.1
10 Khalid Al Qassimi (United Arab Emirates) Citroen +16min49.3

WRC Manufacturer Standings
1 Volkswagen Motorsport  187                                 
2 Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team 90                                 
3 M-Sport World Rally Team     68
4 Hyundai Shell World Rally Team 55
5 Volkswagen Motorsport II     52
6 Jipocar Czech National Team 24
7 RK M-Sport World Rally Team 22

Drivers' Standings

1 Sebastien Ogier 138
2 Jari-Matti Latvala105
3 Mads Ostberg 66
4 AndreasMikkelsn 63
5 Mikko Hirvonen 40                        
6 Elfyn Evans 36
7 Kris Meeke 32
8 Thierry Neuville 31
9 Martin Prokop 30
10 Henning Solberg 22    
Read more on:    volkswagen  |  sebastien ogier  |  italy  |  motorsport  |  rally

Inside Wheels24

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.