How to buy a classic motorcycle in SA?

'There are a few things you need to consider,’ writes bike guru Dries Van der Walt.

Top family cars in SA

Wheels24's Janine Van der Post has gone from a 'SpeedQueen' to a supermom. Check out her list of top family cars.

VW 1-2, but Hyundai on Mexico podium

2014-03-10 08:47

AND THAT’S 2014 VICTORY NO.2: Sebastian Ogier claims his second victory of the 2014 WRC season after winning the Mexican Rally, round three of the championship. Image: AP/Christian Palma

LEON, Mexico - 2013 World Rally champion Sebastien Ogier has won the Mexico Rally, Round 3 of the 2014 World Rally championship, in a VW Polo 1-2.

Ogier, winner also in 2013, was more than a minute ahead of team mate Jari-Matti Latvala.

Hyundai’s Thierry Neuville was third but nearly five-and-a-half minute slower - yet it was rally newcomer Hyundai's first podium place.

Ogier's victory was even sweeter when his win on the 8.25km power-stage, the 22ndof the event, gave him a maximum 28 points and allowed him to take the overall lead in the championship with a three-point edge over Latvala.


Ogier ledafter the first two stages before Mads Ostberg briefly took charge for Citroen. Ogier regained the lead on Stage 7 and was never again threatened, especially after Ostberg retired with a broken suspension.

Ogier took 14 of the 22 stages on the way to his 18th career win and his second of 2014 after the season-opening Rally of Monte Carlo. He said: "I have a superb car and a great team. The Polo is strong and quick and we have been doing very good work.

"We push when we have to and then control the race. It's an event I like."

2014 Mexican Rally results:
1 Sebastien Ogier (FRA/Volkswagen Polo-R) 4hr27min41.8
2 Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN/Volkswagen Polo-R) +1min12.6
3 Thierry Neuville (BEL/Hyundai i20) +5min28.6
4 Elfyn Evans (GBR/Ford Fiesta RS) +6min49.3
5 Martin Prokop (CZE/Ford Fiesta RS) +9min54.4
6 Benito Guerra (MEX/Ford Fiesta RS) +12min57.6
7 Chris Atkinson (AUS/Hyundai i20) +15min15.4
8 Mikko Hirvonen (FIN/Ford Fiesta RS +17min06.8
9 Mads Ostberg (NOR/Citroën DS3) +25min41.6
10 Yuriy Protasov (UKR/Ford Fiesta R5) +28.12:2

Special-stage winners: Ogier 14, Latvala 2, Meeke 1

Championship points

1 Sebastien Ogier (FRA) 63
2 Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) 60
3 Mads Ostberg (NOR) 32
4 Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR) 24
5 Elfyn Evans (GBR) 20
6 Bryan Bouffier (FRA) and Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) 18
8 Kris Meeke (GBR) 17
9 Thierry Neuville (BEL) 15
10 Ott Tanak (EST) 10

1 Volkswagen Motorsport 115
2 Citroen Abu Dhabi WRT 60
3 M-Sport WRT (Ford) 40
4 Hyundai Motorsport 31
5 Volkswagen Motorsport II 28
Read more on:    volkswagen  |  wrc  |  mexico  |  motorsport  |  racing  |  polo

Inside Wheels24

Opel Astra 1.4T Enjoy auto – understated and smart new hatch

When it comes to the mid-size hatchback choice, there are a few default choices, a few bland ones… and some often overlooked cars. The Opel Astra hatch is an example of the latter, writes David Swanepoel. - Sponsored

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.