How to buy a classic motorcycle in SA?

'There are a few things you need to consider,’ writes bike guru Dries Van der Walt.

Top family cars in SA

Wheels24's Janine Van der Post has gone from a 'SpeedQueen' to a supermom. Check out her list of top family cars.

Dominant Ogier triumphs in Poland

2014-06-30 08:07

VICTORY IN POLAND: Sebastien Ogier wins the 2014 Polish Rally behind the wheel of his Volkswagen Polo R WRC . Image: AFP/Tomasz Waszczuk

MIKOLAJKI, Poland - Volkswagen's defending World Rally champion Sebastien Ogier won the 2014 Polish on Sunday (June 29).

It was Ogier's fifth win of the 2014 season out of seven rallies and the 21st of his career.

After 24 special stages and 360km of timed sections, Ogier finished ahead of team mate Andreas Mikkelsen. Hyundai's Thierry Neuville was third.


Ogier extends his lead in the World championship to 166 points compared to team mate Jari-Matti Latvala (116), who finished fifth.

Ogier dominated from start to finish and held a comfortable lead going into Saturday's (June 28 2014) final day.  Latvala was ruled out of contention after his suspension was damaged by a stone on Saturday's 14th special (June 28).

Latvala won in Sweden and Argentina earlier in 2014, with Ogier winning the others in Monte Carlo, Mexico, Portugal and Sardinia.

Ogier said: "I think it was the perfect weekend for me. I am really happy - victory and a good step for the championship. The stages were good fun and high-speed."

Despite his disappointment at missing out on top spot, Mikkelsen was able to cruise to second and he reflected on a solid weekend: "It was a great weekend. I really enjoyed the stages. We battled hard with Ogier.

"It was a shame we lost time on Saturday with the brakes and a mistake from me - but still a very positive weekend."

Round eight of the 2014 WRC will be held in Finland from July 31.

2014 Rally of Poland result
1 Sebastien Ogier (France) VW 2hr34min02
2 Andreas Mikkelsen (Norway) VW +1min07.7
3 Thierry Neuville (Belgium) Hyundai +2min13.5
4 Mikko Hirvonen (Finland) Ford +2min32.4
5 Jari-Matti Latvala (Finland) VW +2min33.1
6 Juho Haenninen (Finland) Hyundai +2min49.9
7 Kris Meeke (Britain) Citroen +4min27.9
8 Hayden Paddon (New Zealand) Hyundai +4min32.1
9 Henning Solberg (Norway) Ford +4min59.0
10 Martin Prokop (Czech Republic) Ford +6min11.3

Read more on:    volkswagen  |  poland  |  motorsport  |  racing

Inside Wheels24

Opel Astra 1.4T Enjoy auto – understated and smart new hatch

When it comes to the mid-size hatchback choice, there are a few default choices, a few bland ones… and some often overlooked cars. The Opel Astra hatch is an example of the latter, writes David Swanepoel. - Sponsored

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.