How to buy a classic motorcycle in SA?

'There are a few things you need to consider,’ writes bike guru Dries Van der Walt.

Top family cars in SA

Wheels24's Janine Van der Post has gone from a 'SpeedQueen' to a supermom. Check out her list of top family cars.

Mercedes dominates Malaysian GP

2014-03-30 11:46

MERCEDES IN CHARGE: Lewis Hamilton dominated the Malaysian GP to earn his first win of the 2014 F1 season. Image: AP

SEPANG, Malaysia - Lewis Hamilton led a Mercedes one-two victory and earned his first win of the 2014 Formula 1 season at the Malaysian GP.

Hamilton victory is the first one-two for Mercedes since they returned to F1 as a works team in 2010.


Hamilton, who claims his first win at Sepang, dominated throughout and led team mate Nico Rosberg, winner of the 2014 Australian GP, followed by Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel in third.

Rosberg still leads the 2014 Championship.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso finished in fourth place followed by Force India's Nico Hulkenberg and McLaren's Jenson Button in fifth and sixth respectively.

Felipe Massa held on for seventh ahead of Williams team mate Valtteri Bottas despite being told by his team to let Bottas through.

McLaren's Kevin Magnussen was ninth and Toro Rosso's Daniil Kvyat tenth.


The race however saw seven drivers retire with multiple issues ranging from software problems to tyre woes.

Sergio Perez will have some choice words with Force India as he was forced to sit out the Malaysian GP due to technical problems. Perez commented that there was a software issue his team was unable to resolve.

Pastor Maldonado had a poor race as he was forced to retire his Lotus on lap 8. Marussia's Jules Bianchi, who was given a five second penalty for clashing with Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen, retired from the race before lap 10.

Toro Rosso's Jean-Eric Vergne entered the pits lane on lap 20 to become the fourth driver to retire from the Malaysian GP.

Sauber's Adrian Sutil and Esteban Guitierrez were both forced to retire by lap 37.

Disaster struck Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo as he was forced to return to the pits lane due to a front-wing issue on lap 40. By lap 42, his front wing could be spotted dragging along the ground, damaging his front-right tyre and ultimately ending his Malaysian GP race.

2014 Malaysian GP results at the Sepang race circuit:
1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1min40min25.974
2 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes +17.313
3 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull - Renault +24.534
4 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari +35.992
5 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India - Mercedes +47.199
6 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren +1min23.691
7 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes +1min25.076
8 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes +1min25.537
9 Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren +1 lap
10 Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso - Renault +1 lap
11 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault +1 lap
12 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari +1 lap
13 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Caterham - Renault +1 lap
14 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Caterham - Renault +2 laps
15 Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia - Ferrari +2

Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull - Renault +7 laps
Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari +1 laps
Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari + 24 laps
Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - Renault +38 laps
Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia - Ferrari +48 laps
Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus - Renault +49 laps

Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - Mercedes - 56 laps

Fastest lap: Lewis Hamilton - 1min43.066, lap 53

Drivers and Constructor standings after the 2014 Malaysian F1 GP
1 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes - 43
2 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes - 25
3 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari - 24
4 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren - 23
5 Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren - 20
6 Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Force India - 18
7 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull - 15
8 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams - 14
9 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari - 6
10 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams - 6
11 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - 4
12 Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso - 3
13 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - 1
14 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - 0
14 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber - 0
16 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber - 0
17 Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia - 0
18 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Caterham - 0
19 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Caterham - 0
20 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull - 0

1 Mercedes - 68
2 McLaren - 43
3 Ferrari - 30
4 Williams-Mercedes - 20
5 Force India – Mercedes - 19
6 Red Bull - Renault - 15
7 Toro Rosso - Renault - 7
8 Sauber - Ferrari - 0
9 Lotus - Renault - 0
10 Caterham - Renault - 0
11 Marussia - Ferrari - 0

Third practice
Second practice
First practice
Read more on:    2014 malaysian gp  |  malaysia  |  motorsport  |  racing  |  f1

Inside Wheels24

Opel Astra 1.4T Enjoy auto – understated and smart new hatch

When it comes to the mid-size hatchback choice, there are a few default choices, a few bland ones… and some often overlooked cars. The Opel Astra hatch is an example of the latter, writes David Swanepoel. - Sponsored

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.