24 Hours of Daytona: 5 epic moments

Luis Derani was victorious at the 24 Hours of Daytona and SA driver Stephen Simpson claimed the Prototype Challenge class win.

2015 SA Rally: 20 defining moments

A tale of 2 teams, 2 halves, 2 drivers and 3 navigators: We reflect on some of the best 2015 SA National Rally champ moments.

Spanish front row for Jerez GP

2013-05-04 15:18

MARC MARQUEZ: He's back on the front row for the 2013 Jerez MotoGP. Image: AFP

JEREZ, Spain - Once again it's an all-Spanish grid for a 2013 MotoGP start with Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) taking his second pole of the season despite falling during final qualifying at Jerez in Spain

Joining him of the second row will be Danie Pedrosa and Honda team mate and new hotshot Marc Marquez, the three leaders' times, respectively, 1min38.673, 1min38.920 and 1min38.971 - threatening another cracker of a race on Sunday.


Briton Cal Crtuchlow also went down as his front wheel washed away with six minutes of qualifying to go but still finished fourth on the time sheets; it was his second crash within an hour of track time. Was there time to get back out on the reserve bike? The answer was yes, but he didn't better his time.

Two minutes later and Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) also went down but walked away, waving to the crowd, after a classic dismount - and moments later Dani Pedrosa and his Honda parted company, leaving, it seemed Marc Marquez to take pole. They finished fifth and, as already listed, second on the grid.

Marquez also took a tumble in practice.

Crutchlow was, bravely, back out and trying to improve his grid position. An earlier time put him fourth, and there he stayed.

Qualifying times for the 2013 Spanish MotoGP
1 Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) 1min38.873
2 Dani Pedrosa (Honda) 1min38.920
3 Marc Marques (Honda) 1min38.971
4 Cal Crutchlow (Yamaha) 1min39.202
5 Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) 1min39.300
6 Alvaro Bautista (Honda) 1min39.509
7 Nicky Hayden (Ducati) 1min39.654
9 Andrea Doviszioso (Ducati) 1min39.848
10 Hector Barbera (FTR) 1min39.980
11 Andrea Iannone (Ducati) 1min40.087
12 Bradley Smith (Yamaha) 1min40.350
13 Aleix Espargaro (ART) 1min40.085
14 Michele Pirro (Ducati) 1min40.182
15 Randy de Puniet (ART) 1min40.460
16 Hiroshi Aoyama (FTR) 1min40.654
17 Danito Petrucci (Suter) 1min40.852
18 Brian Staring (Honda) 1min41.324
19 Claudio Corti (Kawasaki) 1min41.513
20 Colin Edwards (Kawasaki) 1min41.530
21 Yonny Hernandez (ART) 1min41.779
22 Michael Laverty (PBM) 1min41.935
23 Lucas Pesek (Suter) 1min43.220
24 Karel Abraham (ART) 1min43.334

Moto2 qualification on Saturday
1 Esteve Rabat (Spain) Kalex 1min43.251
2 Scott Redding (Britain) Kalex 1min43.698
3 Takaaki Nakagami (Japan) Kalex  1min43.855
4 Pol Espargaro (Spain) Kalex 1min43.950
5 Jordi Torres (Spain) Suter 1min43.990
6 Xavier Simeon (Belgium) Kalex 1min43.994
7 Nicolas Terol (Spain) Suter 1min44.008
8 Marcel Schroetter (Germany) Kalex 1min44.017
9 Thomas Luethi (Switzerland) Suter 1min44.055
10 Anthony West (Australia) Speed up 1min44.271

Moto3 qualification on Saturday
1 Alex Rins (Spain) KTM 1min46.660
2 Maverick Vinales (Spain) KTM 1min47.145
3 Luis Salom (Spain) KTM 1min47.327
4 Brad Binder (South Africa) Suter 1min47.517
5 Jack Miller (Australia) FTR 1min47.613
6 Niccolo Antonelli (Italy) FTR 1min47.742
7 Jonas Folger (Germany) Kalex 1min47.793
8 Niklas Ajo (Finland) KTM 1min47.868
9 Jakub Kornfeil (Czech Republic) Kalex 1min48.009
10 Efren Vazquez (Spain) Mahindra 1min48.147


Read more on:    yamaha  |  ducati  |  honda  |  jerez  |  spain  |  2013  |  motogp

Inside Wheels24

12 things you should know about the 2016 Dakar Rally

From the 556 off-road competitors to the arduous 9300km route, here's all you need to know about the upcoming 2016 Dakar Rally.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.