Ken Block's epic Gymkhana 9 is out!

Ken Block's done it again! Drifting, sliding and ploughing through an industrial playground in his 450kW Ford Focus RS RX.

SA welcomes drift king 'Mad Mike'

Mad Mike is set to tear up the GrandWest Casino track with his legendary Quad Rotary RX - in Cape Town this weekend.

Kruger wins 2012 Formula VW

2012-10-29 11:29

FORMULA VW DRAWS TO AN END: Jayde Kruger took home the championship but Simon Moss (pictured above) claimed overall victory of the day

Jayde Kruger clinched his second consecutive single-seater title win of the Formula VW 2012 championship and third overall victory.

Although the season started off slowly for the team as they worked on finding sponsors, by mid season everything fell into place.


Kruger said: “By mid-season we got the car sorted out and also the standing starts. We didn't realise how important the start issue was. Just our first race at this event showed a good start is even more important than a good qualifying.

“My first season in Formula Volkswagen I only finished about eighth, but in season two I won it. A combination of team and driver confidence is important. You also need to understand that when you race a series like this you are racing the best single-seater racers in the country – you're not going to go somewhere else and find better.

“Consistency and the reliability of the car have been important this season,” says Kruger. “It has been a good season, any time you win it is a good season, but we've done well as a team and achieved for our sponsors as a result.”

In the qualifying session at the final round it was Simon Moss who proved fastest. Moss has claimed second in the championship fight and set the pace at the finale with a time 0.56 of a second faster than the champion.

Kruger and Nicholas van Weely came in second and third. Moss was, however, penalised a finishing position for overtaking under yellow, handing the victory to Kruger.

In race two Moss took top spot with Van Weely second and Tato Carello third. The defending champion, Kruger, was penalised for a jump start and ultimately finished sixth.

The race results gave Moss the overall victory for the day with Van Weely claiming second and Kruger in third.


1    Jayde Kruger
2    Simon Moss
3    Nicholas van Weely

1    Simon Moss
2    Nicholas van Weely
3    Tato Carello

1    Simon Moss
2    Nicholas van Weely
3    Jayde Kruger

Inside Wheels24

Look out! Race car crashes into camera stand, sends crew plummeting

This out-of-control race car is every motorsport photographer's worst nightmare. Watch as a speeding racer crashes into a camera stand.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.