World RX Racing final at Killarney

In just a month's time the World RX of South Africa heads to Killarney International Raceway in Cape Town.


Lewis Hamilton says he would like to know the current physical condition of F1 legend Michael Schumacher.

Kart champs warm up cold Cape

2013-06-03 09:18

FISH IN THE WATER: Luke Herring took home gold in the Super Rok category of the Engen Supa Kart National championship at Killarney.

CAPE TOWN - Round 2 of the Engen Supa Kart National championships took place at Cape Town’s Killarney circuit. Thick cloud and rain prevented qualifying and grids were formed according to championship positions. Naturally this didn’t please those who had a poor opening round.

The Mini-Rok class was all about one driver - Bloemfontein’s Stuart White (Zanardi) mastered the tricky conditions and left his rivals struggling in his wake. He won all three races and finished 13-points clear of Delon Thompson (Top-Kart) who had two third places and a second behind his name.

Local ace Dario Busi (TonyKart) scooped the bronze medal position thanks to a second position in race two. Blaine Rademeyer (Zanardi) was fourth ahead of Pietermaritzburg’s Chayse Augustus (Zanardi) with Joshua Dias (Zanardi) rounding off the top six.


In the Junior Rok category TonyKart driver Keagan Masters proved that consistency is the key to success, coming second in all three races gave him the win by a mere two points. Reigning champion Bradley Liebenberg (Birel) and Kohen Bam (Zanardi) each had a win and were tied on points but it was Liebenberg who was classified as runner-up after winning the final race.

Umpie Swart (CRG) won the opening race, but lost his chain in the final which dropped him to fourth in the overall standings. Clinton Bezuidenhout (Zanardi) was fifth, tied on points with Birel’s Kashen Naicker in sixth.

In the Super Rok battle it was Zanardi’s former Junior Rok champion, Luke Herring, who came out on top a point clear of Simon Moss who won the final race. Local ace Julian van der Watt was third for Zanardi after a second place win after being tied on 90-points with World Rok Cup champion Nathan Parkins (Zanardi). Tony-Kart drivers Jonathan Aberdein and Benjamin Habig completed the top six.

The next round of the 2013 series will be at Idube, just outside Pietermaritzburg, in July.
Read more on:    killarney  |  cape town

Inside Wheels24

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.