WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Liebenberg victorious at endurance series

South Africa's Bradley Liebenberg impressed on his international endurance race debut at the Dubai Autodrome.

World's toughest race: Meet SA's Dakar Rally competitors

2015-12-23 12:30

READY FOR DAKAR 2016: Giniel de Villiers and Leeroy Poulter will driver a Toyota Hilux at the 2016 Dakar. Image: Quickpic

Ferdi de Vos

Cape Town - The 2016 edition of the Dakar Rally promises to be one of the toughest tests yet in its 37-year history.

The event will start in Buenos Aires, Argentina, on January 3 2016 and finish in Rosario 13 days later after a loop of close on 9300km through Bolivia, a total of 556 competitors from 60 nationalities will participate in the 38th running of the race.

In terms of vehicles and personnel South Africa’s involvement in the 2016 Dakar is impressive.

SA's Dakar competitors

SA manufactured race cars – a total of 16 Hilux V8’s, two Renault Dusters, two Ford Rangers, two Nissan Navaras and the two Century Racing buggies – make up nearly 25% of the entry list, while over hundred South Africans will play supportive roles on the Dakar.

Dakar 2016: The world's toughest race

Obviously 2009 Dakar champion Giniel de Villiers (#301, again paired with the German Dirk von Zitzewitz) in the locally built Toyota Gazoo Racing Hilux V8 will be SA’s leading contender, supported by team mates Leeroy Poulter and Rob Howie (#319).

Besides the Toyota Gazoo crews another twelve South Africans will participate including Mark Corbett/Juan Mohr (#346) and Colin Matthews/Rodney Burke (#378) in a pair of Century Racing CR5 buggies, and rookies Sean Reitz/Riaan Greyling (#375) in a Red-Lined Nissan Navara V8, supported by a team consisting exclusively of South Africans.

In the bike category the only SA entrant is Kobus Potgieter (KTM 450 RR, #125), but Wessel Bosman (KTM, #130), an ex-SA 110m hurdles champion who participated this year but didn’t finish, entered the 2016 rally under Lesotho colours – making him the first ever resident from the mountain kingdom to participate in the prestigious rally.

FLYING THE SA FLAG: Kobus Potgieter (KTM 450 RR) is the only South African entry in the bike category. Image: Supplied

In the quad category there are three Bidvest Yamaha Team Rhide SA  entries for Dakar veteran Brian Baragwanath (#274), Eddie Barbier (#275) and new SA champion George Twigge (#276), while Sean Berriman will be a racing crew member aboard a MAN in the truck category.

Read more on:    toyota  |  man  |  volkswagen  |  2016 dakar rally  |  chile  |  dakar  |  off-road

Inside Wheels24

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.