Chile pulls out of 2016 Dakar Rally

Chile has pulled out of the 2016 Dakar Rally due to flash-flood damage in its northern, desert region but hopes to rejoin the event in 2017.

27-colour Landy built for UK knight

Land Rover worked with British designer Paul Smith to create a unique 4x4 - a one-off, 27-colour, Defender with luxury trim! GALLERY

Peterhansel loses Dakar lead

2013-01-08 07:34

NAVIGATION WOES END DAKAR LEAD: Stephane Peterhansel still has plenty of time to take back his Dakar lead after suffering navigation issues during stage two of the Dakar 2013.


Stéphane Peterhansel raced his Mini to victory to claim the second stage of the 2013 Dakar. Check out video highlights from Stage two!

Defending Dakar champion Stephane Peterhansel had his second stage victory overturned, putting Carlos Sainz back in the lead.

X-raid Mini's Stephane Peterhansel had been credited with the fastest time on the stage initially, while Sainz - the leader after the first day - had lost over 20 minutes and fallen to 11th overall.

Dakar stage 1 gallery

Image gallery

Following an overnight investigation by rally organisers, the 21m26s lost by Sainz as he searched for a waypoint, has now been given back to the Red Bull Buggy driver.


Peterhansel's problem was caused by the satellites used by the rally organisers, rather than his own in-car GPS unit.

"It was really strange out on the stage because of the problems we had with navigation. There was a waypoint on the stage that we passed three or four times before it would let us continue on the stage.

"We were going up and down and round and round because we knew we were in the right place. Eventually we decided to leave because we just couldn't find this waypoint. This was a risky move because if you do not pass all the waypoints on the stage it can cost you a time penalty.

"Then after we travelled 3km away we got the waypoint confirmation. The whole thing was very strange," he said.

Revised positions after stage two

1 Carlos Sainz Red Bull Buggy 2hr55min15
2 Stephane Peterhansel X-raid Mini +5min05
3 Giniel de Villiers Imperial Toyota +7min43
4 Ronan Chabot SMG Buggy +8min51
5 Orlando Terranova X-raid BMW +11m31
6 Leonid Novitskiy X-raid Mini +14min38
7 Lucio Alvarez Overdrive Toyota +17min32
8 Krzysztof Holowczyc X-raid Mini +19min05
9 Carlos Sousa Great Wall +20min53
10 Bernard Errandonea SMG Buggy +22min20

Leading stage two times
1 Carlos Sainz Red Bull Buggy 2h32min15
2 Stephane Peterhansel X-raid Mini +3min32
3 Giniel de Villiers Imperial Toyota +5min58
4 Ronan Chabot SMG Buggy +8min15
5 Orlando Terranova X-raid BMW +8min49
6 Leonid Novitskiy X-raid Mini +12min56
7 Nasser Al-Attiyah Red Bull Buggy +15min00
8 Lucio Alvarez Overdrive Toyota +17min08
9 Krzysztof Holowczyc X-raid Mini +17min23
10 Carlos Sousa Great Wall +17min56

Wheels24 will be following the 'Dakar' rally throughout the race. Keep up with things on our Dakar Rally section.


Read Wheels24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining

Inside Wheels24

Monte Carlo WRC: Awesome on-board action

The Monte Carlo Rally, the first round of the 2015 WRC in January, is done and dusted. If you've missed the action, check out the awesome on-board footage from Robert Kubica's Ford Fiesta RS WRC.

'Pure elation!' SA on Dakar '15 podium
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.