27-colour Landy built for UK knight

Land Rover worked with British designer Paul Smith to create a unique 4x4 - a one-off, 27-colour, Defender with luxury trim! GALLERY

Wrangler concept: Look of things to come

Jeeps of the future: the annual Easter Jeep Safari in the US is usually a showcase for upcoming models - 2015 will be one such. GALLERY

250 Classics headed for Zwartkops

2013-07-19 08:26

CLASSIC RACE ACTION: Jaki Scheckter’s Ford Galaxie will head to Zwartkops later in July to battle against other classic icons. Image: RacePics

Historic car racing will return to the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria with 250 Classic vehicles set to compete on July 28 2013.

Topping the venue’s Historic Tour event will be two races for the Trans-Africa Legends of the 9-Hour cars. The category has 13 V8 racers and more than a dozen small-engined vehicles.


Heading up the entry list at Zwartkops will be Hennie Groenewald’s Mercury Comet, Leeroy Poulter’s Ford Thunderbolt, Franco Scribante’s Ford Mustang, Jaki Scheckter’s Ford Galaxie, Jonathan du Toit’s Chevy Nova and Mark du Toit’s Chev Biscayne.

Any of them could make the podium, as could Fred Phillips’ Ford Galaxie, Thomas Falkiner’s Ford Mustang, Ferdi van Niekerk senior's Galaxie and Ferdi junior's Ford Mustang, MJ Meiring’s Ford Fairlane or Neil Reyneke’s Studebaker Lark.

Leading the 2.0-litre category and capable of mixing it with some of the V8's should be the Alfa GT Juniors of Clive Densham and Roy Prando, the Alfa Giulias of Trevor Tuck and Patrick Gearing, the Mini Coopers of Denzil Bhana, Stuart Greig, Colin Ritchie and Frank Copping’s Renault Dauphine.

Also competing in the 2.0-litre category is Paul Pereira’s Anglia and cricketing legend Clive Rice in an Alfa Junior.

Rivaling the tin-top brigade for spectacle will be the Sports and GT Pre-1968 Le Mans racers. Spectators should look out for Mark du Toit’s Lola T70 Spyder, Craig Cummings’ Lola, Ross Lazarus’ Ford GT40 models.

Dino and Franco Scribante as well as Peter Lindenberg will compete in a Shelby Coupe.


Heading up Class B will be Jonathan du Toit in his Daytona Coupe, Warren Lombaard’s Cobra, Keith Hinckley’s Le Mans Cobra 289, MJ Meiring’s Cobra, Oliver Dalais’ Ford GT40, Josh Dovey’s imported 1964 Lotus Elan 26R and AJ Reyneke’s Volvo P1800.

The Pre-1974 sports cars will be headed by Colin Frost’s Porsche 917, Jonathan du Toit’s Chevron B8, Craig Pieterse’s Lola T70, Franz Pretorius’ Porsche 956, Peter Bailley's Porsche 917 and Carel Pienaar’s Chev Camaro.

The Trans-Am category will see Charl Arangies (Chev Camaro) fighting with Marius Wait (Ford Mustang) and Phillip Pantazis (Nissan 240Z). The 2.0-litre class will see the Steve Miller’s Ford Escort taking on the rare BMW 2002 belonging to Mike Wentzel.

The Little Giants category has grown enormously in 2013 boasting various Alfa Guilia Sprints, Hillman Imps, Austin A35’s, D-Type Jaguars, Mini Coopers, GSM Darts, MGs, Cortinas, Anglias and Renaults.

The Zwartkops gates will open at 6am with racing taking place from 10am.  Tickets are R60 at the gates, R40 per student while children under 12-years-old can enter free.

Read more on:    classic cars  |  good news  |  motorsport

Read Wheels24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining

Inside Wheels24

Monte Carlo WRC: Awesome on-board action

The Monte Carlo Rally, the first round of the 2015 WRC in January, is done and dusted. If you've missed the action, check out the awesome on-board footage from Robert Kubica's Ford Fiesta RS WRC.

'Pure elation!' SA on Dakar '15 podium
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.