New Renault Captur in SA

Renault has expanded its SA compact SUV range with the launch of the new Captur.

Renault: 50 years of ‘voiture a vivre’

Renault effectively moved the goal posts when they unveiled the 'Renault 16' in 1975, 50 years on and the hallmarks still ring true for their current models.

Vettel MIA in Turkey

2011-05-06 15:20

QUICKEST IN TURKEY: Jenson Button powered his McLaren to top the time sheets during the second practice session ahead of the Turkish Grand Prix.

McLaren's Jenson Button topped the second practice session in Turkey followed by Mercedes' Nico Rosberg in second. McLaren team mate Lewis Hamilton finished in third place.

Following his crash during the first practice session Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel missed out the second session while repairs were made to his car.

The 2011 championship leader's F1 car sustained serious damage when he hit the wall after losing control at Istanbul's famous Turn 8.

Second practice results:

1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1min26.456
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1min26.521
3 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1min27.033
4 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1min27.063
5 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 1min27.149
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1min27.340
7 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1min27.517 1.061
8 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1min27.725
9 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1min27.844 1.388
10 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1min28.052
11 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1min28.069
12 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 1min28.153
13 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1min28.475
14 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 1min28.765
15 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1min28.828
16 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1min28.946
17 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1min29.409
18 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1min29.637
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1min30.281
20 Jerome d'Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1min31.035
21 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1min31.221
22 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1min31.320
23 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 1min31.989
24 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault No time (crashed)

First-practice results

1 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1min38.670
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1min40.072
3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1min40.132
4 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1min40.338
5 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1min40.401
6 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1min40.421
7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1min40.697
8 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari 1min41.094
9 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 1min41.178
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1min41.347
11 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 1min42.564
12 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1min42.597
13 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1min43.525
14 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1min43.913
15 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1min43.986
16 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 1min44.787
17 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 1min44.954
18 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1min45.183
19 Jerome d'Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1min45.237
20 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1min48.461
21 Karun Chandhok Lotus-Renault 1min51.676
22 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1min55.791
23 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 2min00.666
24 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes No time


Read Wheels24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining

Inside Wheels24

F1: Seven facts you probably didn't know

You might be surprised to learn these 7 facts about the world's most expensive form of motorsport: Formula 1.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.