Alonso crash saga 'weird' - Villeneuve

'It's a story that leaves me a bit confused,' says former F1 driver Jacques Villeneuve who's joined a number of pundits and fans baffled by Fernando Alonso's crash.

SA-bound R8 to be unleashed at Geneva

Audi's second-generation R8 will make its debut at the 2015 Geneva auto show. The new V10-powered R8 will arrive in South Africa in 2016! GALLERY

F1 stats: Singapore Grand Prix

2010-09-23 06:57

Formula One statistics for Sunday's Singapore Grand Prix:


Red Bull's Australian Mark Webber has won four races this season, McLaren's Lewis Hamilton and Ferrari's Fernando Alonso three each. McLaren's Jenson Button and Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel have two victories.

Ferrari have won a total of 213 times (from 807 races contested) while McLaren are the second most successful team with 169 victories. Williams have 113 wins. Red Bull have 12.

Alonso's win in the Italian Grand Prix at Monza this month was Ferrari's first at the Milanese circuit since 2006 and the 24th of his career.

The Spaniard is now level with the late Argentine five times champion Juan Manuel Fangio in the all-time winning list. Only seven drivers have ever won more.

If Alonso wins again, the double champion will equal the career tallies of Austrian triple champion Niki Lauda and Britain's late double world champion Jim Clark. Michael Schumacher, now at Mercedes, holds the record of 91 wins.

Pole position

Alonso, Hamilton, Vettel and Webber are the only drivers to have won from pole this season. Only five of the 14 races have been won by drivers starting on pole.

Vettel will be chasing his eighth pole of the season while Red Bull are after their 13th in 15 races.

Only two teams have ever managed more than 12 poles in a single season - McLaren with 15 in 1988 and 1989 and Williams with 15 in 1992 and 1993. Williams hold the record for successive poles, with 24 in a row in 1992/93.

Alonso's pole at Monza was Ferrari's first since Brazil in November 2008, 30 races previously.

Front row

Red Bull have locked out the front row in six races this season.

Monza ended a run of 17 successive races, dating back to Sept 13, 2009, with at least one Red Bull on the front row.

World champion Button qualified in second place at Monza, his first time on the front row since Turkey in June last year.


Read Wheels24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining

Inside Wheels24

Jerez: First glimpse of '15 F1 potential

The F1 world got its first glimpse of the 2015 field as many teams tested new cars, and in some cases new drivers, ahead of the first race of the season in March.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.