Red Bull gets Canada GP pole

2011-06-10 18:31

MONTREAL, Canada – Defending world champion Sebastian Vettel claimed his sixth pole position in seven races this year on Saturday when he topped the times in qualifying for Sunday's Canadian Grand Prix.

The 23-year-old German, in his Red Bull car repaired after a crash into the 'wall of champions' on Friday, clocked a best lap of one minute and 13.014 seconds.

This left him out in front ahead of the two Ferraris of Spaniard Fernando Alonso and Brazilian Felipe Massa, the two-time champion just squeezing ahead of his team-mate in the closing seconds.

Australian Mark Webber qualified fourth in the second Red Bull with Briton Lewis Hamilton, the 2008 champion, taking fifth ahead of German Nico Rosberg in a Mercedes.

Vettel's pole was the 21st of his career and came on a circuit where Red Bull have never won, but where Hamilton claimed his maiden victory and won again last year.

Hamilton's McLaren team-mate and fellow-Briton Jenson Button, champion in 2009, wound up seventh ahead of seven-times champion Michael Schumacher in his Mercedes.

Another German Nick Heidfeld was ninth for Renault ahead of his team-mate Vitaly Petrov of Russia.

Canadian Formula 1 GP qualifying times on Saturday

Qualifying session 3
1 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull-Renault 1min13.014
2 Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari 1min13.199
3 Felipe Massa (BRA) Ferrari 1min13.217
4 Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull-Renault 1min13.429
5 Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren-Mercedes 1min13.565
6 Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1min13.814
7 Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren-Mercedes 1min13.838
8 Michael Schumacher (GER) Mercedes 1min13.864
9 Nick Heidfeld (GER) Lotus-Renault 1min14.062
10 Vitaly Petrov (RUS) Lotus-Renault 1min14.085

Qualifying session 2
11 Paul di Resta (GBR) Force India-Mercedes 1min14.752
12 Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Williams-Cosworth 1min15.043
13 Kamui Kobayashi (JPN) Sauber-Ferrari 1min15.285
14 Adrian Sutil (GER) Force India-Mercedes 1min15.287
15 Sébastien Buemi (SUI) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1min15.334
16 Rubens Barrichello (BRA) Williams-Cosworth 1min15.361
17 Pedro de la Rosa (ESP) Sauber-Ferrari 1min15.587

Qualifying session 1
18 Jaime Alguersuari (ESP) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1min16.294
19 Jarno Trulli (ITA) Team Lotus 1min16.745
20 Heikki Kovalainen (FIN) Team Lotus 1min16.786
21 Vitantonio Liuzzi (ITA) Hispania-Cosworth 1min18.424
22 Timo Glock (GER) Virgin-Cosworth 1min18.537
23 Narain Karthikeyan (IND) Hispania-Cosworth 1min18.574
24 Jerome d'Ambrosio (BEL) Virgin-Cosworth 1min19.414

Canadian Formula 1 GP third free practice times on Saturday

1 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull 1min13.381
2 Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari 1min13.701
3 Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes GP 1min13.919
4 Felipe Massa (BRA) Ferrari 1min13.956
5 Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren 1min14.335
6 Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren 1min14.469
7 Michael Schumacher (GER) Mercedes GP 1min14.488
8 Vitaly Petrov (RUS) Lotus-Renault 1min14.917
9 Adrian Sutil (GER) Force India 1min15.217
10 Paul di Resta (GBR) Force India 1min15.243
11 Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Williams F1 1min15.312
12 Nick Heidfeld (GER) Lotus-Renault 1min15.350
13 Sébastien Buemi (SWI) Toro Rosso 1min16.138
14 Jaime Alguersuari (ESP) Toro Rosso 1min16.145
15 Kamui Kobayashi (JPN) Sauber 1min16.236
16 Rubens Barrichello (BRA) Williams F1 1min16.438
17 Pedro de la Rosa (ESP) Sauber 1min16.706
18 Heikki Kovalainen (FIN) Lotus 1min17.093
19 Jarno Trulli (ITA) Lotus 1min17.523
20 Vitantonio Liuzzi (ITA) Hispania 1min18.910
21 Timo Glock (GER) Virgin Racing 1min19.073
22 Narain Karthikeyan (IND) Hispania 1min19.213
23 Jerome d'Ambrosio (BEL) Virgin Racing 1min20.475
24 Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull - no time

Canadian Formula 1 GP second free practice times on Friday
1 Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) 1min15.107
2 Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) 1min15.476
3 Felipe Massa (Ferrari) 1min15.601
4 Lewis Hamilton (McLaren) 1min15.977
5 Jenson Button (McLaren) 1min15.989
6 Paul di Resta (Force India) 1min16.089
7 Mark Webber (Red Bull) 1min16.102
8 Vitaly Petrov (Renault) 1min16.324
9 Nick Heidfeld (Renault) 1min16.422
10 Rubens Barrichello (Williams) 1min16.687
11 Adrian Sutil (Force India) 1min16.905
12 Pastor Maldonado (Williams) 1min16.941
13 Sebastien Buemi (STR) 1min17.051
14 Jaime Alguersuari (STR) 1min17.684
15 Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber) 1min17.757
16 Jarno Trulli (Lotus-Renault) 1min18.470
17 Heikki Kovalainen (Lotus-Renault) 1min18.482
18 Pedro de la Rosa (Sauber) 1min18.536
19 Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) 1min18.601
20 Michael Schumacher (Mercedes) 1min19.209
21 Timo Glock (Virgin) 1min19.810
22 Vitantonio Liuzzi (HRT) 1min20.284
23 Narain Karthikeyan (HRT) 1min20.311
24 Jerome d'Ambrosio (Virgin) 1min20.922

Canadian Formula 1 GP first free practice times on Friday
1 Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes GP 1min15.591
2 Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari 1min16.139
3 Michael Schumacher (GER) Mercedes GP 1min16.549
4 Felipe Massa (BRA) Ferrari 1min16.658
5 Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren 1min16.676
6 Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren 1min16.842
7 Rubens Barrichello (BRA) Williams F1 1min16.990
8 Paul di Resta (SCO) Force India 1min17.294
9 Nick Heidfeld (GER) Lotus-Renault 1min17.445
10 Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Force India 1min17.549
11 Sergio Perez (MEX) Sauber 1min17.662
12 Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull 1min17.820
13 Jaime Alguersuari (ESP) Toro Rosso 1min18.458
15 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1min17.757
14 Vitaly Petrov (RUS) Lotus-Renault 1min18.506
16 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull 1min18.852
17 Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Williams F1 1min18.932
18 Jarno Trulli (ITA) Lotus 1min19.274
19 Heikki Kovalainen (FIN) Lotus 1min19.422
20 Kamui Kobayashi (JPN) Sauber 1min19.577
21 Jerome d'Ambrosio (BEL) Virgin Racing 1min19.838
22 Vitantonio Liuzzi (ITA) Hispania 1min19.960
23 Timo Glock (GER) Virgin Racing 1min20.520
24 Narain Karthikeyan (IND) Hispania 1min20.839


  • Neels - 2011-06-11 10:57

    Rosberg is 19th ........ then surely Schumacher did well!! Merc need to get that car competitive!! Seems Brawn were a better team without Merc! :-((

      Bratt - 2011-06-12 11:00

      Rosberg is 6th, Schumacher 8th. You should try reading before commenting.

      Atoombom - 2011-06-12 15:48

      Hey Bratt, I think Neels was talking about the 2nd free practice, which is right, and for the actual qualifying, you are spot on

  • pages:
  • 1