Kyalami action - Seller in front

2013-02-25 11:50

The opening rounds of the 2013 SA Motorcycle championships at Kyalami saw debut victories for a new brand and the Unlimited Superbike and 600 Supersport categories provided excitement for fans and competitors.


The unofficial practice session saw the elimination of a top Superbike contender. Robert Portman fell off his Yamaha R1 in Kyalami’s Turn 2. He broke several ribs and was severely bruised.

Chris Leeson (BMW S1000 RR) took pole and shared the front row with Clinton Seller (Kawasaki ZX10), Nicholas Grobler (Kawasaki ZX10R) and Dylan White (Yamaha R1).

Leeson has a poor start in the opening race but White’s Yamaha had electronic problems. Seller took the lead, followed by Grobler, Ryan Ottens (BMW), Leeson and Clinton Pienaar (BMW).

Leeson passed Ottens and Grobler on consecutive laps and chased Seller. Despite dogged pursuit, he could not close the gap and a delighted Seller took the 2013 season’s first victory.

He was followed by Leeson, Grobler, Ottens, Pienaar and Stephen Steenkamp (Kawasaki).


The second race saw Leeson and Seller battle once again, eventually diving through corners side by side, with Grobler close behind. The race came down to the final corner, where Seller got a wheel in front and hung on until the line.

He led Leeson and Grobler, with the three riders covered by four-tenths of a second. Ottens, Pienaar and Steenkamp completed the top six.


The 600 Supersport qualifying saw the all new MV Augustas setting the fastest laps, ridden by Cam Petersen and Brent Harran. They were joined on the front row by Lance Isaacs (Kawasaki ZX6R) and Nicholas Kershaw (Kawasaki).

Petersen snatched the lead during the opening race and held on to the finish. Brent Harran and Lance Isaacs fought long and hard, with Isaacs eventually crossing the finish line a bike length ahead.

Dean Vos (Yamaha R6), Nicholas Kershaw and Gareth Davidson (Kawasaki) filled the next three places.

Race two saw Petersen leading from the start to the flag. Isaacs again snatched second place from Harran, with Vos, Kershaw and Davidson finishing in the top six.

The next round of the 2013 South African Motorcycle championship will be at Killarney in the Western Cape on Saturday March 23.